We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO ROMANTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaGlass Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SeaGlass Tower to your Saves list
SeaGlass Tower
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
West Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“SO ROMANTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for a very long time to celebrate our anniversary every year. The views are spectacular, we always request an oceanfront room which has a complete kitchen and living room are all combined which are all glassed in giving you the view of a lifetime. We request a room as high up as we can get so we get the best view possible. The staff are always accommodating to our every need. I do want to make it clear, though, the hotel is owned by Bluegreen which you must buy a timeshare.

Room Tip: We always have stayed in the oceanfront rooms and we have never heard a noise from anyone. The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
62
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manquin, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is our 3rd family vacation, and we love coming to SeaGlass Tower. The view is spectacular, and the location right next to the boardwalk and SkyWheel is perfect. There is no WiFi which was surprising and no fitness center. Overall, a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

First of all I want to make a clear distinction between the staff who ran this hotel and the company that owns in (Blue Green Resorts). My partner and I had a horrible experience with Blue Green and would never consider buying a time share from them, but we did enjoy this hotel. The staff was great (Kathy, Kelly, Chris, Al, and Kimberly). The rooms are a bit small but they are perfect for couples and the large glass windows are awesome. We were on the 17th floor facing the Sky Wheel. The room had everything you would need including a jacuzzi tub! The location of the resort was also great as we could walk to everything on the strip within five minutes. We we're upgrade to an ocean front room for just asking.

Room Tip: Go ocean front. The Sky Wheel is lit up at night but there are shades to block the light. Just somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in an oceanview room on the 12th floor on the North facing side. The views were gorgeous as we could see all the way up the shoreline along the top of the Yachtsman building. We loved all the glass. Nice sized bathroom and daily towel exchange if needed. The only real complaints we had were that at about 7am every morning the elevator would wake us up. It sounded like a train on the tracks. I was a bit disappointed that you had to go to the lobby for internet service unless you had a laptop that connects with ethernet cable. All of the desk clerks were friendly and helpful. The room was small as expected, but the chaise by the window was awesome. We didn't use the pools at all since we were there the end of December. Overall the location is great (at least for a couple of our age (40+) in the winter), not sure what it would be like in Summer when there are a lot more people around. This hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and the Skywheel and boardwalk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I made my reservation at this timeshare property using ownership points. I was assigned an oceanfront 1 BR condo on a high floor. The views were absolutely astounding, both night and day. Nevertheless, I have to say that overall, my three night stay was a disappointment.

Layout of the unit was good, as were the bath and the towels and the toiletries provided. These additional plusses did not, however, make up for no wifi. Come on guys, even the cheapest, grungiest Myrtle Beach motels are offering free wifi. All you have is wired DSL which you charge for. My tablet does not even have an ethernet connection so I was stuck with my 3G smartphone and use of the wall mounted I-Pad in the lobby (connected wirelessly by the way). There was a second PC intended for guests to use in the lobby, but it was broken for almost all of the time that I was there.

I have to say that I was also disappointed by the front desk staff. While other timeshare properties often have uniformly well-trained customer service pros fronting the operation, some of these folks seemed more to me like 'I could care less' motel clerks (not all of them, mind you, but certainly some). Maybe its Myrtle Beach - or maybe the staff just mimics the attitude of senior management that shows (again, through things like the lack of wifi) that they care more about bucks than they do satisfying their customers. By the way, a fitness center would be a great addition as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatious
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Unlike Craig F, we checked in to SeaGlass and do indeed have free Internet service. While it does need a wired connection, the service is at no additional cost.

Wi-fi requires servers, and in a building this size, multitudes of them. At construction it appears the building was wired for Cat 5 connections. If you wish to use your iPod, etc, then I suggest you provide your own hot spot via your cell service provider.

Otherwise, I find this resort to be very plesant. And naturally the oceanview and oceanfront units are the most desireable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The shame is this is a really, really beautiful hotel, despite being 25 years old. The rooms are great with wonderful views, indoor heated pool, hot tub, all glass suite with full kitchen and very comfortable beds, whirlpool tubs in every room....
But leave your laptop, smart phones & i-pads at home because the owners of this resort still think that INTERNET service, is some type of extra luxury item and then shoot themselves in the foot by cutting off their customers from the rest of the world. Not to mention a total LACK of WiFi service, so too bad I-pad owners. They haven't entered the '90's yet and don't offer WiFi at any price.
Oh, but you can connect in your room, via a network cable for only $9.95 per day. Wow! Boy I'm I ever glad I didn't waste 90 minutes on their high pressure time-share sales pitch. Who in the world would want to pay $70 per week extra, just so they could check their freakin' email??? Why not charge $10 per day for a tv and $10 for clean towels and $20 for a set of sheets. Once again its the higher end, nicer hotels that are owned by IDIOTS that can't seem to understand that there are probably 10,000 empty hotel rooms available with free wifi in Myrtle Beach this time of year and maybe their customers might like to log-on. What's worse is they don't even have a business office where you can log on for free... Oh they have a network connection in the lobby, but guess what? That costs $9.95 as well!
So, for a lack of ONE SIMPLE service, they not only lost us as a repeat customer, they also lost the 5 Star review I would have gladly given them if they they were not so shortsighted and greedy for an extra $10. Oh and guess what? They still didn't get it, because I walked down the street where the city of Myrtle Beach offers FREE WIFI! IDIOTS!!!
So why are you staying there?

Room Tip: With Hundreds of great hotels available that do offer free internet service... stay in one of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaGlass Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGlass Tower

Address: 1400 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaGlass Tower 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SeaGlass Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaglass Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Seaglass Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Yachtsman
Yachtsman Myrtle Beach Sc
Seaglass Resort Myrtle Beach
Seaglass Tower Myrtle Beach
Yachtsman Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaGlass Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.