We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but had some flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3301 Robert M. Grissom Parkway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Jacksonville, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but had some flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 9 month old and I visited because my husband had a military ball to attend in Myrtle Beach. We tried to get a room at the hotel he needed to be at, but they booked us at the Sheraton Broadway. We had seen pictures and it looked beautiful, and we got excited. He checked in, so I'm not sure how the staff was. We were in building 6, which has an eh view, but it was in the back and hardly anyone was back there.

We walked into our room and our jaws dropped. Full kitchen that was stocked with everything from silverware, dishwasher tablets, plates and I even found a casserole dish. It had a dining table to seat 6, a living room complete with a DVD and Blu Ray player, a nice sized bedroom that had a jacuzzi in it and a bathroom with a decent sized shower with great pressure. It had its own washer and dryer that were tiny, but that was fine, and had a vacuum in one of the closets. It felt like home! We got a packet when we checked in that listed different activities that they did (mostly for little kids, arts and crafts kind of things) and for some reason I was a bit surprised they charge guests to take part in them.

When my husband left for his ball, however, I started noticing things that worried me. I took our daughter out on the back porch to look at the pond and fountain and noticed the screen was torn in the corner. We went back in and the door handle came right out into my hand! I put it back in and tried to lock the door but the lock was stuck. I turned around and noticed a dead roach on the floor next to the bed. I gave my daughter a bath in the jacuzzi and as she was splashing around, a weird looking spider was crawling up the side of the tub (thankfully it didn't touch her and she didn't find it!) I killed it with a facecloth and took her out. As I was doing that, I found a pubic hair on the other side of the tub. I was a little shaken up and the rest of the trip worried that we'd find more spiders and bugs in our room or they'd find us while we were sleeping. No bedbugs though. I tried using the vacuum and the hose kept coming out of place and it was really old and worn. The fridge started dripping water when there was nothing in that or the freezer except for two ice packs. The bathroom wall was cracked and was falling out of place next to the shower. Check out was the earliest I had seen for a hotel, 10 am and we woke up a little late thinking it was 11, but getting out of there at 1030ish the front desk told my husband don't worry about it.

Besides the bugs, and the door not locking, the experience wasn't bad at all and being off season, the price was great and there wasn't a lot of people to deal with. It's not even a 5 minute drive to Broadway on the Beach and has someone sitting out front to check for parking tags, and as far as I know they dont charge for parking (like most other hotels I've read about down there). Not bad, might stay here when we go back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review to let us know how your stay was. We try and provide relaxing, vacation experiences for our guests and sometimes, mistakes can occur. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and the decor, along with all the ammenities in the villa. Rest assured , we have passed along the concerns about the spiders and bugs in the unit. We do not charge for parking at the resort nor does Broadway at the beach. Thank you agin and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    127
    36
    23
    12
See reviews for
200
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful resort tucked away but close to everything, about a mile from the beach but only a few blocks from Broadway at the Beach.

The lazy river was wonderful. We spent hours on it, going round and round amid lush greenery. (I don't know how relaxing it would be in the middle of summer though, when all the kiddos are out in full force! There's a wonderful, separate kids' pool area, but there were a few unattended elementary school-aged boys who didn't get the memo about this area being "lazy", read: calm behavior, please! They were leaping off the walls-- despite posted rules to the contrary. But they were not too much of a nuisance once we pointed out the signs to them and told them we heard someone reporting them.LOL)

Our one-bedroom unit was well-appointed and spacious, with full kitchen and an enormous bathroom (bigger than the bedroom) with jacuzzi tub and separate walk-in shower. All fixtures were high-end.

We did not take part in most of the resort activities, as they were primarily child-oriented (we are empty-nesters) but we did do the ceramics, which I would highly recommend. My hubby is not artsy in the least but he even enjoyed designing and glazing a plate. It was a great, handmade, practical momento of a great vacation.

The only issues we had were with scents: we could not eat out on the little covered, screened-in balcony due to a neighbor who always seemed to be smoking some stinky cigar. And the lobby (and sales area) had one of those fragrance emitters with a fan that blew the way-too-strong (to the point of nausea!) scent into every corner. I imagine their front desk personnel must get some pretty bad headaches!

Don't forget to bring some stale bread to feed the ducks, geese, turtles and fish at the ponds: there are several!

Room Tip: Buildings away from the pool are, of course, quieter. The older buildings have smaller units but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
On behalf of the Management Team at Sheraton Broadway Plantation , we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Myrtle Beach. We prideourselves on providing relaxing, satisfying vacation experiences. We do have an aromatic scent in our lobbys, this is called the Sheraton Scent and we do have these in all our Starwood properties depending on the locale of the propery. Thank You and we will see you on your next visit to Myrtle beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first time staying here but it won't be our last. The property is very attractive even though there are many units making up the resort. Elevators wer clean and shiny. The staff was very friendly. We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the top floor with a lovely view of the duck pond. The unit itself was nicely furnished and very clean. Kitchen was well stocked with everything needed to prepare any meal one could desire. Nice clean appliances and refrigerator. Glass top range even had a burner that was large enough for a large skillet! The counters were granite and a really nice color. The balcony outside the living area was screened in so that you could sit outside or leave the door open and not worry about bugs. We had a kingsized bed and the mattress was so comfortable. Bedroom had a jacuzzi tub and a walk in shower as well as nice granite counters. The location is very convenient to so many activities and eateries. Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay short because of Hurricane Sandy but we will be back one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us and thank you for completing your survey on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are very appreciated and we look forward to your next visit to Myrtle Beach. We just completed our renovation to our rooms, and we are very excited about the reactions we have heard. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at this time several times before but wevwerevnot prepared for the renovations to the unit. It is gorgeous, granite counter tops, walk in shower, jazzucci tubs, all new furniture and appliances. Really lovely and topmof the line. Superb!!

Room Tip: Ask for unit eith a sky light
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visits and are so glad to hear that you enjoy our Resort year after year. We are very glad to hear that you love all the renovations that have been done to the units and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future at your home away from home where fun, smiling faces and southern hospitality are a way of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Edward, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

After purchasing years ago, we have finally made it back! What a wonderful relaxing time. The villas are wonderfully maintained. The staff goes above and beyond to please. The Sheraton has never let us down no matter what property we have stayed at. This is one of the best purchases we have ever made!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello and Thank You for taking the time to complete your survey and for telling us about your experience with us. We are glad to have your family as a member of our Starwood family of owners and for letting us know about your wonderful experience. We look forward to your familly staying with us again in the future at your home away from home where fun, smiling faces and southern hospitality are a way of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are spending a week at the Sheraton, which is part of our 10 week vacation package. Compared to Aruba and Cancun, it is very cold! But this is late October and a little North of Aruba! Other than the temperature, the Sheraton rates very well, as do most of the other Sheratons. I was dissapointed that there was not any restaurants on the resort, but there are many located less than a mile from us, and they are easy to get to (Margaritta Ville, Hard Rock, Landrys, Amici;s, Sharkeys, Senor Frogs, etc). Also noticed that they did not have any Golfing promotions, and this is one of the major Golf cities??? But overall, it is a very nice and comfortable resort.

Room Tip: ask for a one bedroom deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarattu, Manager at Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Myrtle Beach area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your inquiry about golf courses and specials, we do offer many packages and excellent rates for golf. Please visit our Golf and Entertainment Directors on your next visit and they will be glad to assist you with some great deals on golf. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas

Also Known As:
Sheraton Broadway Plantation Hotel
Sheraton Broadway Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sheraton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sheraton Myrtle Beach
Sheraton Broadway Plantation
Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Broadway Myrtle Beach
Address: 3301 Robert M. Grissom Parkway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Broadway Plantation Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.