We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1561 21st Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
york, pa
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice room but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very nice and clean and an amazing value for the price. I would have given it 5 stars except the bathroom was designed for midgets. I'm only 5'9" and the shower head was so low it required a severe back bend to get under. And the sink was way lower than normal.
But other than that, we loved it. As a plus, they accept dogs with no additional charge.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    64
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
92
59
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My children and I spent two nights at this La Quinta very recently. Our check in experience did not set a good tone. We arrived at 4:45 in the afternoon to find the front desk unstaffed and the lights off in the area behind the desk. After about 5 minutes of waiting and talking loudly, we called out to see if anyone was around. It took another guest's coming up, banging on the counter and hollering to get anyone to come. The person who emerged from the back looked rather disoriented and asked if we needed something. When I asked to check in, she ran through the process quickly without mentioning any info like where our room was, what time check out would be, or breakfast hours.

As for the room, we found it quite spacious, comfortable and reasonably clean. Unfortunately, the sound proofing was non-existent. Both nights we were awakened multiple times by people walking down the hall, by elevator noise, by plumbing noise, by people carrying on a normal volume conversation in the room next door. We literally could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors said. My son said it was like there was a microphone piping all of hotel noise into our room.

On our second night around midnight, the battery in the smoke detector started beeping. To his credit, the person who answered the phone at the front desk addressed the problem immediately and managed to change the battery without waking up my children--much appreciated.

The breakfast was not great (stale pastries, slim selection of fruit), and we opted to eat elsewhere the second morning. The morning we did eat at the hotel, both trashcans in the breakfast area were overflowing. Though we saw several staff members pass through, no one addressed the problem. If there was a breakfast attendant, we never saw him/her.

Similarly, the trash cans in the public areas by the elevators were overflowing. We stuck some trash on top on our way into the hotel Saturday afternoon, and it still was there (with more balanced precariously on top) at 10 am the next morning.

The parking lot had quite a bit of trash in it also that remained the length of our stay.

We really wanted to like this hotel b/c we enjoy visiting Broadway at the Beach, and the room rate was extremely competitive. But I cannot imagine that we would choose to stay here again. We have stayed at the La Quinta a few blocks away before--it's cheaper, cleaner and friendlier. Or I would happily pay more for a better experience at one of the many, many other options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Even though this Hotel is not near the beach, it is very nice. Clean. Comfortable beds. Large rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. A breakfast with a large selection. I would recommend it if you are not planning on spending you whole visit on the beach. If you come to MB for the sites, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. We have stayed in a kingsize bed room and a room with two beds. both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

La Quinta is a pet friendly hotel in Myrtle. We have 2 dogs and at times it is difficult to find a decent Hotel that would accept pets. The rooms are large and clean. There is a small but fully equipped kitchen. LQ provides a free breakfast and free internet. There is also no fee for pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

No pet fee. Clean, sheets not as clean as I like, but clean. I like to be able to smell a hint of bleach on hotel sheets. Breakfast good, I love the shampoo. This is a clean hotel, don't be afraid to book.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area Hotel
La Quinta Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area Hotel Myrtle Beach
La Quinta Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach La Quinta
Address: 1561 21st Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.