We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Dunes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FALL/WINTER Spectacular!
Ranked #117 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Great for an active young family who spent most of the trip on the beach and enjoying the area. We had a room with a nice kitchen and great ocean views. Great for a family that wants a budget friendly vacation. The hotel could use some updating but the waterpark was fun for our child and we enjoyed the pizza place right in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    58
    83
    125
See reviews for
352
38
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We visited over the Thanksgiving holiday and had found this hotel resort on the interent. There were some "special packages" offered for the holiday and we looked at the floor plans & photos. We called to make reservations directly so that we could ask specific questions about the various units and the resort ammenities. The first reservation personnel we spoke with was not very knowledgeable of the actual ammenitites and the convenience to each unit, but did tell us that one of the resorts' rooms were much nicer (more newly renovated) than the other. Since our family of 5 (wiith 3 children 10 and under) were coming with grandparents, we chose a 3 BR condo in the North Tower with an ocean view to give us ample space. We called to make the reservation and spoke with another person who was a bit more knowlegeable, but still did not know all the things that would be in the condo (i.e. that we would not need to bring).

Upon arriving before the normal check-in time, we did a pre-check in and were actually able to get into our room right away (ie. hardly anyone at the hotel). The unit was quite dated and you could tell had been heavily used with little on-going repair/maintenance to keep it in good working order. The first night, the refrigerator leaked and had gotten the closet floor in the adjacent room completely soaked. Luckily, our children had not dumped any clothing on the floor (other than socks), so only several of the shoes were quite wet. Housekeeping was also very limited during this time with regards to replacing coffee, kitchen linens & dishwasher detergent.

Our first 2 nights at the North Tower were extremely quiet due to low occupancy. However, more guests arrived by Friday, so that night was quite a bit more noisy and made it hard for our children to sleep without hearing all the noise going on until way past midnight. Since the noise did quiet down around 12:30, we did not get the front desk involved (and we were leaving on Saturday), so it was not going to be an issue anymore. But, it was interesting to note that new arriving guests were put in units next to and above us.... With all the units in this building, one would think it considerate to at least stagger the guests above and on the same room. That would not be so inconvenient for housekeeping (when they do come), yet provide a more relaxing and quiet atmosphere for the guests.

On a positive note, the unit we had was clean and fairly updated (within the last 10 years!). The view was spectacular which was an added bonus and the children enjoyed the indoor pool, hot tub and steam bath. The view from the indoor pool was quite nice for those who wanted to just sit around and chat. With regards to our leaking refridgerator, the maintenance crew arrived in a timely manner and took care of the situation and housekeeping got up the water from the wet carpet on Thanksgiving Thursday. They were professional in handling the problem and we are grateful for that. Housekeeping on the 2nd day (Friday) was a bit rushed and they did not do very much, but did at least vacuum the carpet to get up sand.

Overall, this resort is average to less than average in comparison to other resorts in Myrtle Beach we have frequented (for the same price) -- their ammenities are less and their rooms are a bit well-lived in, but they were clean when we arrived - but were not maintained as we would have expected.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

The kids could not get enough of the water park, it was great! The rooms were clean, as was the resort. The room had a kitchen, bedroom and living room with 2 TVs. My room had an great view of the beach both up and down the coast . There was a nice restaurant and a take-out pizzeria on the main floor of the hotel. We were able to watch the kids play in the sand on the beach while we ordered drinks and listened to the live music on the patio outside. Its not the Ritz Carleton but it didn't cost as much. GREAT VACATION

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjquinn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Right on the beach, two swimming pools, just short drive to the boardwalk for shopping and the aquarium. Clean and spacious rooms. Great price - we would definitly go back to the Dunes if we head back to South Carolina!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We've stayed at the Sand Dunes several times, but not for a couple of years. I love the location - walking distance to a variety of restaurants, and in a very nice section of Myrtle Beach. The small water park is great for the younger set, and the pools were very nice and very clean, and uncrowded when we were there. We stayed in a regular oceanfront room, and while it wasn't recently renovated, it had a beautiful view and was clean and had all the amenities advertised. We got a great rate from their website, and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I have never in my life stayed in such a nasty hotel!!! This hotel was dirty, there were stains on the chairs in the room, there was dust under the TV, and the bed coverings were stained and dirty. I was so disgusted by this place, that if I had not been there for a family reunion I would have been out of there. One of our family members saw red stuff on the walls and the comforter that looked like blood, it turned out to be spaggetti sauce. I don't know which was worse, if it had been blood and they tried to clean the room and when they couldn't get it off, they rented the room anyway or the fact that it was sauce and they rented the room without cleaning it.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Sand Dunes Resort Hotel for two summers now. We have enjoyed a great vacation every time! The room has always been exactly what we booked and true to its depiction on the resort's website. The resort offers two of Myrtle Beach's must have food places - River City Cafe and Ultimate California Pizza. The pools and lazy river are warm and the waterpark is a favorite to all children. Kiddie Pools are also available. The Kids Club is phenomenal! Parents get a welcomed break and the kids actually learn from the activities provided in a safe and fun environment. The Hall of Heroes is a must see and is staffed by welcoming employees. The cleaning staff at the resort is very friendly and always saying hello and wishing you well. Our room was cleaned and refreshed daily. They really work hard to keep up with the wet bodies that are in and out all day. This is an oceanfront resort so sand is to be expected! Music plays by the pool and drinks are readily available. The resort offers a bar with nightly activities. A spa and full service health club are also available. The concierge is helpful and all Myrtle Beach's best shows can be booked at discounted rates. Lots of happy faces abound at the Sand Dunes!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.