We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dead Dog Saloon

Dead Dog Saloon
4079 Highway 17 Business, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-6192
843-651-0664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Georgetown, SC
1 review
“Overpriced but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I went on Halloween. It was packed. However we were seated quickly and got our food quickly. The only thing I couldn't believe were the prices!! I've lived here my entire life and those prices are ridiculous. I got two appetizer crab cakes, a Caesar salad and a water and my bill was $25. I couldn't believe it. The food was great but I can find all of that elsewhere for a whole lot cheaper. My boyfriend got the appetizer nachos with a miller light and his bill was $13 without the tip included.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    232
    95
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Dead dog is alive and well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Place came back after fire better Than ever. Nice outdoor patio, friendly waitstaff and better than average pub food. Good setting along walkway to people watch as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

friendly staff, excellent view, amazing food! i ate the inlet grilled cheese - pimento cheese, fried green tomato, and bacon on a toasted ciabitta bun with onion rings. my husband ate the shrimp po-boy with fries. every bite was heavenly! and, to top it off, they give complimentary hush puppies that tasted awesome! they have good size portions for very reasonable prices! we'll definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to this restaurant for the first time last week, even though we are in the area frequently. It is in a great location with a beautiful view of Murrell's Inlet. The decor is really neat with lots of framed pictures of dogs on the wall. I had a wonderful shrimp poboy and my husband had a burger, which he said was great. The service was fast and it's a great atmosphere. We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went here for happy hour and ordered a bunch of appetizers and drinks. The service was superb. The decor is unique and the view excellent. It cost is also very reasonable. We would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Dog Saloon also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dead Dog Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dead Dog Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.