We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within walking distance from the beach condos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sara J's Seafood Restaurant

Sara J's Seafood Restaurant
314 Atlantic Ave, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-651-1657
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Belleplain, NJ
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Within walking distance from the beach condos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We rented a beach front condo in Garden City for one night. Decided to go for a night stroll for about a mile away from our condo along the marsh walk. At the end we crossed the street to Sara J's - a seafood restaurant. We asked for patio dining and were accomodated. The view was real nice, the city and the back bays.
Our server was Lori, very attentive. She gladly said the senior meals were for any age, smaller portions ($15.75). We both chose the combo with fried shrimp, clams, oysters, deviled crab (choose 3). The meals came with coleslaw (not too tasty) and a potato or vegetable. My husband chose a baked potato and I. the fresh veggie blend. They were delicious, brocccoli, string beans, carrots, red peppers!
The cocktail sauce came in a squeeze bottle and that was horrible.So Lori gave us a side a horseradish and catsup, my huisband made our own.
Meals come with hush puppies, a southern treat. Enough to eat, no need for a take home bag!
I chose a Mango Martini, too sweet so I added ice to cut it down; my husband enjoyed a cold one.
Total bill was $47 and we tipped big! Hey, we're on vacation.
Choose this restaurant if you are staying in the area. It's the nicest restaurant around!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    55
    40
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We generally take one big vacation each year with my family (wife, 2 teenage boys, my mom). While some eat out every meal, we buy groceries and have large meals in our condo and generally eat out one meal during the week. Our meal for this year's Garden City Beach, SC vacation was at Sara J's tonight. We heard there can be a crowd or wait, so we planned to eat early on a week night (arrived around 4:25). Our party of ten were seated on the porch overlooking the marsh which provided a great atmosphere for a special family dinner. The waitress was very professional and attentive. Many of the seafood offerings were around $20, which can add up quickly for a family with older children. I got the Seafarer Fried Flounder and the others ordered a variety of seafood options. Everyone seemed to agree that the food was delicious. My flounder came in three very large pieces, each of which was very thick and flaky and had a light taste (not greasy). The hush puppies that came prior to the meal were very tasty as well. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant. Some may be used to paying more than $20 for an entre, but I am not. However, for a special night out at the beach, you can have some great food here, with great service and make sure you sit on the back porch!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in Garden City many times,but had not stopped at Sara J's because of the large lines waiting to get in.Recently however I visited in mid May and was able to get in easily.We were not disappointed.The calamari appetizer was very good,not over cooked and chewy,but perfect.The seaford combo was delicious,and service good.We enjoyed it so much,that we went back on Mother's Day evening.We had the day's special which was steak and large shrimp.Once again it was very good.I cannot wait to get back in mid July.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toccoa ga
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of eating at a table overlooking the marsh while the sun was setting. The four of us all ordered the seafood platter. The seafood was fresh and came to our table hot and the crust had a crunch not greasy like some places. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Cold Boiled Shrimp Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have eaten here for years. We finally learned to get there very early to avoid the wait - but if that isn't possible, the wait is worth it! The décor is interesting and beautiful as you pass the time, and they have recently opened a little gift shop. The food is amazing - just amazing. Many people like to eat outside on the porch. There are ceiling fans out there, so it rarely gets too hot. From inside or outside, be sure to watch for egrets roosting in the marsh as the tide comes in. The hushpuppies are the best on the beach - sweet and chewy.(If you want the drier, oniony ones, head up to Sea Captain's House.) The cold boiled shrimp are perfection, as are the fried. These aren't the tiny little calabash style, and they aren't the giant ones found in chain restaurants. These are just perfect little bites of heaven. Flounder and stuffed crab is also excellent. Husband doesn't do seafood, but loves their steaks, grilled Hawaiian chicken, and even spaghetti. The kids menu is great, as is the seniors menu if you don't have a big appetite. Their frozen drinks are delicious - and they are happy to make them "kid friendly," too. This is our favorite restaurant at the beach! We drive nearly an hour to get there from the far North end. Well worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sara J's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sara J's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara J's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.