We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Food and Service - Getting Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Fish Club

Hot Fish Club
4911 US Highway 17 Business, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-357-9175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Hot Fish Club provides a variety of rooms for your events. You can find comfort in our 150-seat inside dining room with a decor inspired by the natural beauty of the inlet. Or you may want to relax in the 70-seat enclosed Creekview Porch that is comfortably heated in the Winter and cooled in the warmer months. The open-air Gazebo Bar with a 700 sq. ft. deck on the water might be your preference for the occasion. Or the perfect site may be in our vast green grass yard spread under the 200 year-old Live Oaks. Whichever your choice may be, you will be pleased to find the absolute best view of Murrells Inlet and the ocean jetties. We also offer an assortment of live entertainment, and can help you select from over 75 bands, featuring anything from beach music to reggae to funk.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Delightful Food and Service - Getting Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

5 of us (friends) had drinks at the Gazebo (inlet front) bar tonight with dinner following in the adjacent restaurant. We left a message for an 8'oclock (primetime) reservation. They promptly confirmed the reservation via phone and the caller was very personable and professional. I tend to be a rather picky trip advisor reviewer but I cannot remember a better dinner experience in the Pawleys Island/Murrells Inlet area.

At the back bar gazebo the view was spectacular and the drinks and service were very good. Yes it is somewhat lowcountry ramshackle, however, that's the overall ambiance that we seek when we visit. We noticed that they have poured a serpentine sidewalk along the waterfront and have constructed a new deck overlooking the marsh. The sidewalk connects to a new boardwalk leading behind the next door restaurant. It has the potential of adding a much more upscale atmosphere and enhance the expansive inlet views over Murrells Inlet. It should open by Labor Day.

We were promptly seated when we returned to the restaurant. We enjoyed bam bam shrimp (appetizer), three inlet house salads, Seafood Puttanesca, Lobster Pot Pie, Seared shrimp and scalloped pasta. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food and our waitress (Randy) was helpful, prompt and engaging (in a good way).

Afterwards we spent a short time listening to the band at the backside bar/gazebo. Very enjoyable. We left around 10 pm and an upscale clientele was beginning to stream in as we understand that it is a preferred latenight venue spot (watering hole, music/dance).

Overall our group agreed that it was at or near the top of our many dinner evenings in Murrells Inlet and Pawleys Island.

Overall our group agreed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    132
    50
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in the Grand Strand area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

By far the best place to go in the seafood capital of Coastal Carolina. Worthly of 5 stars due to service and taste for sure...only compliant is the cost of meals are getting outragous!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can I order a different server?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was so excited to get a chance to try the number one restaurant on the inlet...first off this abodes scenery is what makes it. They have a playground outside for kids, as well as a corn hole setup to keep you occupied. The thing that really sets it apart is the incredible view of the marsh, and an option for outdoor dining, which we chose. There was also live music playing the night we visited, although rather poor quality, yet interesting nonetheless. Wait was quick at <30 minutes. A bit pricey, my wife and I both had the peel and eat shrimp which were great. Only gripe would be no sides included. So $18 for shrimp and they charge you another $6 for a salad and $2.50 per side. This might not sound like much but it adds up. My biggest gripe was the service. We had a nice guy named Oliver I believe. He was very inattentive, forgot to place the order for our child making him wait for 20 minutes watching mom and dad eat. He brought the salads out with our meals after we specifically requested they be out first. He also did not know the menu. He didn't know their house wine, had no idea how the food was prepared, and although was nice...it wasn't enough. I would eat here again because the atmosphere is better than most places in the area, but would definitely want a better server. The food was very good once it was delivered, if only we could've had different service delivered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great fish and not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped by Hot Fish Club for an early dinner and it was a mixed bag. When we first arrived, the hostess was on the phone taking reservations and seemed very busy. She said the only table available was on the patio and we preferred to be indoors in the A/C after being outside all afternoon. When we said no thanks and started to leave, suddenly she says there is one table available in the dining room. It didn't exactly make us feel welcome to begin our meal.

The seafood here is very good, especially try the fried oysters. However, the rest of the meal was greatly lacking. The sides were not good as a general rule. My mashed potatoes were instant, which is just not acceptable at this price point or really at any sit down restaurant. My husband said his baked potato wasn't good either. My son's fruit cup was just that, a plastic sealed cup with fruit cocktail that you would buy at the grocery store. Someone in the kitchen couldn't cut up some fresh fruit? Also, the dining room could use some sprucing up. The walls and ceiling tiles have seen better days, we were in the room looking out over the water.

I also have to address that this restaurant asks diners on their menu to go to TripAdvisor and review the restaurant favorably if you enjoyed your meal. I always think it is suspect when a restaurant goes this route. Apparently it's working because this restaurant is currently listed #1 in Murrells Inlet on TripAdvisor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysi, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant based on the tripadvisor reviews. We went for the first time Tues. for a girls night out. I got the Lobster Pot Pie. It was DELICIOUS! My aunt got the fried seafood platter and LOVED it! She even liked the oysters and she is not usually an oyster fan. My sister and niece shared a steampot for 2. An unbelievable value and VERY high quality. There were 2 lobsters, 3 clusters of crab legs, oysters, mussels, clams, etc. All fresh and all delicious. Those in our party who did not get to go Tues. went on Wed. and had the same reviews. The peanut butter pie and chocolate canoli were also tried by some in our party and were given high marks. The service was outstanding and there was no wait. They do have call ahead seating. I know we will return here every year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Fish Club also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hot Fish Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Fish Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.