We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, casual and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
4393 HWY 17 Business South, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-651-1004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Glens Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“convenient, casual and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We walked to River City for burgers..extremely casual establishment, peanuts on the table and peanut shells on the floor! Lots to look at....can't say it enough bit it is REALLY casual. I wondered if they left the shells on the floor and only occasionally swept them up...since we were some of the last customers of the night we witnessed the cleanup .... Impressive! They didn't just sweep the floor, they hosed down the kitchen area! We'll definitely go back just because it's clean! And for the REAL burgers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    74
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Funky Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Review here are right. The food is good and the portions are hearty. My veggie burger (called the Woodstock) was $7.99 with no sides. I had to scrape the pesto season off it since there was so much of it, but that might be a personal taste issue. My wife said her burger was outstanding. She brought half of it home. The décor is very different as you can see from the photo below. The server was pleasant and helpful. Somewhat strangely given all the positives, we won't rush back. In fact, my wife said this might be a place we would visit again in 6 - 12 months. We will be in that area for a week or so since her mother is in a nearby hospital, and we will try other places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This location is now our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We LOVE River City! We have been to a location in MB, Surfside Beach (our previous fav) and now this location in Murrell's Inlet. Murrell's Inlet is now our favorite location. We were promptly seated and given peanuts. Taylor, our waitress, was awesome and super friendly. Our burgers were great (we usually try a different one each time we go to RC). I got the shoe-string burger and my Husband got the Palmetto Burger with pimento cheese. I can't wait to go back to River City and eat more burgers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Believe everything you read in the reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

So, before visiting River City Cafe, we read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We prepared ourselves for three things. "Peanuts to shell and throw on the floor.", "Great burgers served by friendly waitresses.", "A wacko manager who thinks himself a comedian, but walks around offending.". Well we got all of that!

First. Yes, there are peanuts to shell and throw on the floor! Second, The burgers were FANTASTIC!, A fabulous variety, large and well appointed, excellently cooked. And the french fries, were some of the best I've had in a long time. They tasted like french fries are supposed to taste. Our waitress was excellent, attentive and friendly.

And yes, the "floor show: was there! (I really think he has the best of intentions), If you expect the worst, from this manager guy, you'll actually be amused." There's a chain called "Dirty Dicks" where you pay extra to have them insult you as part of the service. At River City in Murrells Inlet, there's no extra charge! We heard him lecture a scared little girl, on respecting her parents. We heard three senior ladies, get "propositioned" (after a few uncomfortable laughs, he moved on). Really, as long as you are prepared, it's a great show. My advice? Don't make eye contact." ;-)

I'm ranking it a "Very Good" on atmosphere. They've got TONS of character and atmosphere, license plates on the walls, ceiling, doors. They encourage you to write on the walls, tables, ceiling, just about any surface that doesn't move. (Except the sword fish!)

Highly recommended, we'll be back and I'll bring friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Creative Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had the California pesto burger. It was delicious and cooked perfectly. I think the best burger I've ever had. Walls are funky, decorated with license plates from all over which helps you kill time. The service was a little slow but we were in no rush. Yumm!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.