We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
4393 HWY 17 Business South, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-651-1004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Myrtle Beach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Love The Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Don't let the outside appearance stop you from going in and eating. The food was good, people extremely friendly and within a block's walk to the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    74
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hey its not fine dining but it is great burgers the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

listen its not a 5-star restaurant but when it comes to burgers when i get to myrtle beach the first place i go is river city i prefer the one in murrells inlet and yes bring a sharpie to sign your name on the wall great fun great burgers and now hand cut fries better than five guys .bring the kids and throw the peanut shells on the floor ps great sweet tea

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value, fun for kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went in without expectations, and we really enjoyed the "ambience" of this restaurant. With a small child, she enjoyed being able to throw peanut shells on the floor. She also enjoyed being able to write on the paper table cloth and on the license plates on the walls. it was great fun for her. The portions are large, and the value is good. My disappointment was in the fact that they refused to cook a burger rare or even medium rare. The burgers were all prepared at least at "medium", thus the burger was gray inside. What could have been a great burger, was not. The service was a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Burgers and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was at Myrtle Beach last week on vacation and visited River City Cafe twice. The one in Murrells Inlet is hands down the best one. The burger was great, the service was awesome. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. The manager Jerry was also very courteous and friendly. I work in the restaurant industry as an Area Manager and it takes a lot to impress me and this was one of those times. If you are ever in the area you should take the time to eat at River City Cafe for the best burger and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots of awesome burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Glad we stopped here for a late lunch on our first trip to Murrells Inlet. Hubby had the black & blue and I had the Swiss & mushroom. Both were enjoyable and huge on a soft tasty bun. The waitress was very attentive, filling our glasses as needed. Meal was served on their special RCC wax paper plates. We also shared chili cheesy fries, which were quite tasty too. Atmosphere was sooo laid back with peanut shells on the floor, paper as tablecloths and cool license plates all over the walls and ceilings. Def would go again! Don't pass up on how it looks from the outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.