We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the beach wouldn't be complete...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
4393 HWY 17 Business South, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-651-1004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
South Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A trip to the beach wouldn't be complete...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

without a visit to the River City Cafe! Their menu is pretty varied, but we can't stay away from their sandwiches and onion rings. They are the best! The Mahi Mahi sandwich, huge filets of fish served on a fresh, tasty bun, is scrumptious. Their burgers, offered up in a variety of ways, are cooked to order and so juicy they drip down your hands. The chicken "finger" appetizer is huge with a light breading and more than enough for a meal. And, as an onion ring connoisseur, I have to say that these are da bomb. No matter where I go, no other onion rings come close. They are huge, sweet, juicy rings of onion with a light, crispy batter and the perfect onion-to-batter ratio. Served with an avocado ranch dipping sauce, they cannot be beat. While I've visited four of the locations of the River City Cafe, my favorite has to be the one most recently visited in Surfside Beach, just south of Myrtle Beach. The restaurant sits right on the ocean next to the Surfside Pier. The location is primo and offers a beautiful view of the pier and beachfront, not something you'd expect from a peanuts-on-the-floor, license plates-covered-walls restaurant like River City Cafe. My family and I enjoy River City Cafe as much or more than many of the fancier dining options at the beach.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    74
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great burgers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Large selection of burgers. Very tasty fries. Good iced tea. Nice place to stop for lunch when at Murrell's Inlet.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake Ontario Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Burg,s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Home of one of the best bergers anywhere. They probable have 20 kinds?? Get their bloomin onion. It will feed 4 as an appetizer.
Good service

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good burger joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you're look for a no frills burger joint this is your place. There is nothing fancy about the building or the food but it is GOOD. The onion rings are incredible, if you like huge, very crispy vidalia onion rings, the way they should be!! You can have your burger pretty much anyway you'd like! I ahve been to this location several times, They have a few others in Myrtle and Surgside but I love this place bc is just you typical old burger joint and I love Murrells Inlet area! This is located right on the inlet!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate N.Y.
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Maybe the s'more burger next time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My fish reuben was a lot of sauerkraut and not much fish although those who ordered burgers were pleased. A burger with peanut butter, marshmello, and nutella- the s'more burger- would have been interesting. I regret my lack of courage. Note- The burgers were good but you will not get them other than rather well done. Our server, Brittany, was friendly and attentive, brought us peanuts to munch on with our beer while the food was prepared.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.