We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bingo and wings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carolina Tavern

The Carolina Tavern
852 Mall Drive, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-947-0708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Carolina Tavern is a family friendly, casual dining restaurant located off of Hwy 17 behind the Inlet Square Mall. The Tavern specializes in fall-off-the-bone ribs, wings (choose from over 20 wing sauces), and slow roasted pulled pork BBQ. There is something for everyone including sandwiches (check out the "Big Pig"), your not so ordinary burgers, seafood,and the "Tavern Flats". The Carolina Tavern also boasts the only "Tap Tables" in the greater Myrtle Beach area. Pour your own draft beer right at the table.Large groups welcome and catering available.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bingo and wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We get together with friends Mondays for happy hour. The wings are 10 for $6 and beer is $2 on tap. At 7 they have bingo and give away "Carolina Tavern" gift cards. Usually there are 30-40 customers so we always win $20 toward the next visit. Wings are always great with many types to choose from. Chicken tenders are large and hand breaded. Chili is tasty, salad bar fresh, and sandwiches are great. Try the fried bacon BLT, but have an ambulance standing by. Service can be a little spotty, and the A/C could be set lower, but we always have a great time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“False advertisement all around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

They claim to have tap tables but I only saw 2 in the entire building. We ordered the pretzel twist dippers and received a fried loaf of bread covered in Parmesan cheese. Also ordered mozzarella sticks which came out cold. Nothing was what we expected. Prices were good for happy hr and after 10pm. Service was just ok...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything about our experience was great! We ate at several restaurants during our vacation and this was surprisingly the best! Good prices and happy hour. Highly recommend sitting at the tap table if available... It was a lot of fun!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Being originally from the Buffalo NY area I know good wings.Unfortunately they are scarce here.I tried the special all you can eat salad bar,fries,barbeque pork and wings. It is all very good,but I was impressed with the wings that are almost as good as in western NY.We now stop here sometimes after golf for lunch and cold beer.This daily special is a great value in a tourist oriented area. Service is good and the place is clean and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Had no draft beer and more than half of bottled beer was not available. Place was severly understaffed food average. Look for this place to close up soon

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carolina Tavern also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Carolina Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carolina Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.