We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood fired food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties

Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties
3979 Highway 17 Business, Murrells Inlet, SC 29582
843-651-2888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $16 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Absolutely fantastic restaurant and bar. Great food, great view, great service and prices for an upscale place. Check it out.
Deerfield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wood fired food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We tried Bovine's for dinner and had the steaks. They were very good and atmosphere was nice. Went back later in week to have the pizza and it was good but wasn't what I expected. Have had better pizza.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    112
    53
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great View, Menu, Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Met some friends at this Restuarant, they wanted the all you can eat salad bar. I arrived too late for that much food so I opted for the Lump Crab Cake in lemon caper sauce appetizer. YUM! YUM! I also tried my friends ground Rib Eye Meatloaf wrapped in Bacon and covered in a Brown Ale Beer Sauce. Not your Mama's meatloaf! Very tasty! They are known for their steaks and Seafood as well as their Signature Corn Pudding. (Recipe online). They also make an awesome Wood Fired Pizza. I love smelling the Mesquite wood as you enter as well as the flavor it brings to Steaks and Seafood! I'm all about Flame impingement on meat & seafood! We sat outside so we got to enjoy the live music from Wahoo's next door, a sister property of the Devine Dining Group and another GREAT Restuarant! I hadn't visited this place in years but I will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This restaurant has a lovely view and very little else to reccomend it. A group of us visited the other night and the food was terrible. I had the local mixed grill (shrimp, grouper and andouille sausage) the meal was cold, the shrimp had been par cooked earlier and was served cold and semi raw. The grouper certainly was not todays catch, or yesterdays either, there was a whiff of stale fish when cutting it. It was also cold. The service was spotty, when the waitress was there it was good, then there were periods when we didn't see her for a while, certainly hard to order another round of drinks. Drinks were needed to take away the prospect of an awful meal. As a local I will never return to this restaurant, there are so many to choos from on the stretch of Murrell's Inlet Marsh Walk. My friends also had comments similar to mine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandelyn N, Manager at Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business on TripAdvisor. We truly value the candid feedback from our customers, and we apologize we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guest with an exceptional dining experience has always been our mission.

We have addressed the issues you shared with our chefs and wait staff to improve the overall quality of our customer's visit. If you return to Bovine's, our management team would love to have the opportunity to speak with you. We hope to see you again, and thank you again for your response.

Sincerely,


The Bovine's Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Bovines remains our favorite place to eat at Murrells Inlet. The food is alway great and the service and view are wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food at a decent price! Would recommend and plan to return! Staff were very nice and courteous and has a beautiful view of the inlet!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bovine's Wood Fired Specialties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.