We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If crablegs are your thing, you must go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood's Seafood & Steak Restaurant

Driftwood's Seafood & Steak Restaurant
10799 Highway 707, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
(843) 650-3278
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If crablegs are your thing, you must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The have all-you-can eat nights on crablegs and shrimp, and oh my... I really appreciate the perfection of the cooking of the crablegs - not mushy, just right. You know they are right when they "pop right out" of the shell. Good sides, too - which is different than many "all-you-can-eat" places. Not fancy, just good food reasonably priced. The locals know this spot, so come early if you want to get in without a wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    42
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great relaxed place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for fine dining or a fancy atmosphere, this might not be the place for you. But it you're looking for good food at a reasonable price, Driftwood 's fills the order. We have been there many times, especially for the 'early birds' , with different groups, and everyone has commented on the great value for the experience.

Last night We got together with friends, one couple was new to the area, and we went to dinner at the Driftwood. Evan did a remarkable job as our server. He explained dinners and answered our questions. He suggested the She Crab soup or Clam chowder for $1.99 for a cup with a dinner order. The soups were an outstanding value considering what you would pay elsewhere, but the were also delicious!!

We all ordered various menu items that were all served in a very timely manner. Everyone enjoyed their choices. The dinner was finished with a small slice of either key lime pie or a moist gooey chocolate cake. I love the small portion on the desert. There's just enough for the 'sweet fix' without feeling too guilty!

I know our friends will be heading back to The Driftwood soon, as will we!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The food here is superb. We got there for the early bird special (4 - 6pm) and saved a couple of bucks and got free desert. The menu has a variety fo selections but we went for the seafood. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want fresh seafood this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Looks can be deceiving. Looks like a hole in the wall dinnor. Best fish ever! Do you want fancy and pricy? Or do you want authentic Carolina, Murrells Inlet, fresh seafood? I had the early bird combo platter, broild. Scallops, flounder, and shrimp, yum! No waiting in the bar area. We sat at a pub table...Fresh hot hush puppies and fish dip.Are served free.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ours was a group of six and we went during the "early bird" time frame. We ordered prime rib, steamed platter (crab legs, shrimp, flounder, scallops and clam casino), half-rack ribs & broiled shrimp, seafood pasta, combo plate and filet mignon & shrimp. All were very happy with their entrees and the hush puppies and smoked tuna dop were a big plus. As part of "early bird", we also got a (non-alcoholic) beverage and dessert included. And our waiter Evan did a fantastic job even though he was also holding down the fort as a fill-in bartender. All in all, Driftwood's Is a local gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood's Seafood & Steak Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Driftwood's Seafood & Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood's Seafood & Steak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.