We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dining on the Intercoastal Waterway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille

K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille
1950 Wachesaw Road, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-6706 (Formerly K-Rae's Waterway)
843-357-3655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dining on the Intercoastal Waterway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went with a friend for a late lunch. Nice seating outside with fantastic views of the waterway. The grilled chicken was very good and I will definitely go again to take in the live music.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. Always appreciate any and all feedback. Glad you enjoyed your meal and atmosphere and look forward to serving you again. 8-)

Have a great day!

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great view, Breakfast Buffet not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first visit to K-Rae's for breakfast and it will be our last. Although their breakfast buffet is very reasonably priced ($7.95 including coffee) the food was mediocre to poor. The sausage gravy was bland, the scrambled eggs were cooked with pepper making them visually unappealing with the black dots. They were also overcooked and rubbery. The bacon was not hot nor crispy. Although the corned beef and hash browns sounded like a winner, it was greasy and tasted old. The star was the mostly fresh fruit bowl and a tater tot/cheese bake. Lunch or dinner are better bets and you still get the same wonderful view. Our waitress was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon,
I'm sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet and I'm surprised since we get so many compliments on our new buffet. I do agree that there are times that the eggs have been in the chafing rack and tend to get rubbery.. we are trying to remedy that each week without compromising taste and without running out and making people wait for eggs at busy times. The bacon is also sometimes difficult to keep crispy when put in a chafing rack for any length of time. We've been told the sausage gravy was too peppery so we did back off on the flavoring and obviously we may have done too much of that. We make everything the morning of the buffet so I'm not sure why the hash browns may have tasted "old". We try to make sure all of our food, not just our lunch and dinners are the best they can be so I appreciate your honest review and assure you I have already spoken to the kitchen staff and we will work on making sure we correct these issues. Have a great day. 8-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was great,but that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Cool on the water restauraunt,but was disappointed in portion sizes.Service was good,but at the end of the day,the food was average and overpriced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi there,
I appreciate your time in reviewing my restaurant and disappointed that you were not happy with our food. I would be interested to know what exactly you had so I may address it with my kitchen. Since the average price for our sandwiches, burgers etc are 9.99 and the highest item we have is the Combo Seafood Platter which includes Fried Oysters, Fried Shrimp, French Fries and cole slaw is only 19.99, served in a large basket, I'm surprised to read that you feel we are overpriced. As for the "average" menu, we unfortunately have a kitchen the size of a phone booth and are limited as to what we can offer. Most of our customers are boaters and/or locals and prefer the more casual, pub type menu. I'd be interested to learn what you feel may be appropriate pricing for the portions you did recieve, at this waterfront location. Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stopped here on our first night in town. We were seated outside with a great view of the waterway. Casual food and drinks, live music on the deck which was a pleasant surprise, he was very entertaining and interactive.

Our waiter was very nice and helpful as well. Ask for Jeff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
THanks so much for taking the time to write a review. So very glad you enjoyed your visit here and look forward to serving you again. Have a great day! 8-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, great atmosphere outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good food, good service. Mostly fried options but good. Loved the outdoor entertainment and shade. Very nice place to spend an eveninf and family friendly. Kids enjoyed kids meals. My husbands french dip looked great. I had the shrimp which was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello There,
Thanks so much for taking time out to review our little slice of heaven. I'm a bit surprised at the "mostly fried food" comment as we have 30 items on the menu and only 6 of them are fried. 8-) Glad you enjoyed the service and atmosphere and look forward to having you join us again in the future. 8-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.