We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Gator Bait Signs Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille

K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille
1950 Wachesaw Road, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-6706 (Formerly K-Rae's Waterway)
+1 843-357-3655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Grill, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take the Gator Bait Signs Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Always visited Hannah's when in area. Good food, one of the friendliest staffs ever encountered. Always felt welcomed. Loved the entertainment Hannah's booked. Visited K-Rae's for first time recently. Staff not so friendly or welcoming. Consider taking the sign's off the tree. Initial impact when approaching outside seating is negative with signs. (No humor in signs, kids should never be considered gator bait!!) Glad to see that food is just as good. We plan to visit again and hope to see improvements. (Again, compliments to the chef!!) We look forward to our next meal there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good Morning,
I'm surprised that you did not feel welcomed as that is the total opposite of what 99.9%of our guests tell us. With that said, if you could respond or message me specifically what made you feel "unwelcome" I would love to address my staff to ensure it does not happen again. As for the signage, we have 3, yes 3 signs that say "Please wait to be seated" and yet, especially during our busiest times (Hannah Banana's also had this problem) we have people that walk right by and sit down anywhere they choose. This presents many problems especially during our busiest times. Guest sit for a long period with no service because we don't know they are there. Guests sit 2 at a table for 6 and then a group of 6 come in and we have no place to seat them. Since our "professional and politically correct" signs didn't seem to work we decided to take a light hearted, fun approach to get the point across. It is meant to be fun and yet informative at the same time. We also have many, many days that children are allowed to run around in and out of other guests tables, disturbing the relaxing experience of those guests. Often times those guests get upset with us for not doing anything about it and when we do ask some parents to please contain the children to their table, we are met with anger and disappointment. Again,we tried to think of a fun,obviously not so serious way of trying to make some parents aware that not everyone enjoys their children running around their table while trying to eat. We obvously would never throw any child into the river and offer them up as gator bait. If you took that seriously and took offense to it, I'm sorry. Again, 99.9 % of our guests have laughed and thought it was a fun way of getting the point across. Many have even taken pictures and posted them on their fb pages saying what a great idea it was. The entertainment is also mostly the same with a few different musicians added to the list to allow for variety. I hope I've addressed your concerns and explained in such a way as you understand our desire to have a fun, relaxed atmosphere for all ages to enjoy. Have a great day!

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

There was nothing bad about our food, but I reserve 4 and 5 star reviews for out of this world, best I've ever tasted food. Nothing we got fell in this category. The portions were big because we all couldn't finish our food.

The view, however, was beautiful and worth the trip! Maybe next time we will skip the meal itself and try the pies since we were too full to try them this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good Morning,
I'm sorry you weren't impressed with our food. If you could give me a little more specific information I can relay that to my kitchen manager and staff and hopefully rectify the situation. Glad you enjoyed our beautiful view though. 8-)

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had lunch here after going on the riverboat tour. The shrimp basket was excellent and the atmosphere on the river was really nice. The servers and all the staff were very nice and pleasant. Would definately return if ever back in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good Morning!
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. So glad you enjoyed the shrimp boat, people rave about that item. What a great day to be on the boat and then enjoy a great lunch on the water. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Finally got to K-Rae's last night for dinner. It was so great...mad at myself that it took so long to get there! The setting is beyond beautiful and the owner and server couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming! Tried the wings for starters which were excellent & cooked perfectly! We then had salads...the wedge salad with grilled chicken was outstanding and the seared tuna over the garden salad was perfection. The tuna melted in your mouth! Nice cold beers to top it off. The view from the deck was more than you could ever hope for! Beautiful sunset over the intracoastal. We loved every minute and can't wait to go back. What a gem this place is!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for such a great review! It's folks like you that really make us all do what we do. So very glad you had such a great experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Be sure to say hello and let us know you are back. 8-) Have a great day!

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So good - such luck we stumbled across it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

While boating today, we happened to pass by this hidden gem. We docked at the restaurant and tried it. It was excellent. Beautiful outdoor seating and awesome food. My husband and I got the blackened mahi tacos - and they were perfect. My daughter got shrimp tacos. And my youngest ordered off the kids menu. Everything was great! We will go back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRB46, Owner at K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello There,
thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your food and your visit. It's so fun for us to see people come in off their boats and "stumble" upon us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a GREAT day!

K-Rae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K-Rae's Waterway Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.