We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fresh Seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Seafood Grill

Russell's Seafood Grill
4906 Hwy 17 Business, South end of Business 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-651-0553
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fresh Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Russell's Seafood Gill is one of the best restaurants in Murrells Inlet. Russell consistently serves fantastic fresh seafood and the early bird specials are a great deal. His clam chowder rocks and the large seafood meal is wonderful. The corn dodgers and cheese potatoes are yummy! The owner is usually always around to greet guests either coming or going. If you want a great meal with friendly staff, then give Russell's a try. You won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    100
    47
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Soft Shell Crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Once again Russell's came through with a fantastic dinner. I was served 3 Soft Shell Crabs, lightly battered and fried to perfection. My wife had her favorite Clams Casino and it was also great! We can always depend on quality food and a great atmosphere at Russell's. If you vacation in the Myrtle Beach area, you really need to take the short drive down to Murrell's Inlet for dinner. You will not be disappointed at Russell's!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous food AND service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first time eating at Russell's, and we went based on the great reviews on tripadvisor. We were certainly not disappointed! The she crab soup and crab balls are not to be missed. They have great early bird specials that change daily and are a great value. Also based on suggestions, we tried the key lime pie-fabulous. Sweet , tart, and cold! Also was greeted by the owner Russell who checked on us during dinner and thanked us for coming when we left. The waiter was also one of the best we have ever had- very attentive and personable! One note- when ordering creek shrimp, deep fried is better than broiled.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service Good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am not sure what they served us as scallops but they were pretty gross. Nothing like any scallop I have ever had. Taste and texture were like they had been microwaved. The baked potato was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service at this wonderful restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The meal started with free hush puppies - I don't really like hush puppies but I couldn't stop eating them, they were so good! My wife had boil and peel shrimp, which I had an early bird special of broiled flounder and "creek" shrimp. The shrimp weren't that great and would probably have been better fried as they are tiny. The service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.