We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Seafood Grill

Russell's Seafood Grill
4906 Hwy 17 Business, South end of Business 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-651-0553
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Laconia, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate dinner last night at Russell's based on other trip advisor reviews. This was our first time visiting the area in twenty years. Had always frequented another popular restaurant in Murrell's but decided to try Russell's. We couldn't have been more pleased! The place is adorable...kind of looks like a tree house. It is cozy, warm and friendly. The hostess opens the door for you and tells you you can choose your own seat. Our waiter, Chris, was excellent. He guided us in our meal choices after listening to what we were looking for and it was just what we wanted! Service was prompt and in fact other wait staff checked on us to if Chris was busy. We ordered the she-crab soup and the seafood sampler (oysters, peel and eat shrimp and clams). It was to die for! The hush puppies with honey butter are incredible! Chris patiently taught us how to open the oysters (thank you!) We each had a glass of wine which was reasonably priced. We had the homemade (by the owner's wife) peanut butter pie for dessert. It was absolutely delectable! Russell, the owner, is very friendly and came over to check on us. We will definitely be back next time in the area and plan to spread the word!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localgal10, Owner at Russell's Seafood Grill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for for awesome review! So glad you enjoyed your night with us. Let me give credit to your waiter, his name is actually Ricky, not Chris. He is the best!! He has been with us for many years and we are proud of him as we are all of our staff. We try our best to make sure you want to come back again. Thanks again Karen Vereen(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    100
    47
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Met all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Friendly, attentive owner and wait staff. On a quiet road with easy access. A little pricey given all the competition along the road, but a good variety of well prepared and well presented fresh seafood. On a quiet road with easy access.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Murrells Inlet's best local seafood served in a can't-miss treehouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

There are almost too many seafood places to choose from in Murrells Inlet, so narrow your search by heading to the best first. Russell's is local, friendly (Russell himself pushed my husband's wheelchair up the ramp to the treehouse dining room), and the seafood is straight off the boat or out of the creek. Cozy fireplace in winter and inlet views. Doesn't get any better than the Sampler with boiled shrimp, roasted oyster clusters, and clams served on a trash can lid sized metal dish. Yum!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Russell is in the building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is classic Murrells Inlet seafood. Cooked when you order and pretty simple presentation. Always nice to see the owner walking the floor and talking with customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Personal Touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Russell's. The food was good and the service excellent. There is a nice assembly area on the deck outside where you can enjoy a drink before your meal.The restaurant has a 'homely' feel to it and you are appreciated as a customer. The owner came and talked to us and gave us some good advice on visiting Georgetown the following day. An enjoyable evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.