We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Host, backed up with exceptionally friendly staff and unbeatable fresh seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Seafood Grill

Russell's Seafood Grill
4906 Hwy 17 Business, South end of Business 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-651-0553
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Host, backed up with exceptionally friendly staff and unbeatable fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We visit Murrell's Inlet once a month and make Russell's our first stop for an excellent meal and a genial host. The owner, Russell Vereen, is descended from the original land grant owners and grew up in Murrell's Inlet. He knows all the local fishmen and gets his fish directly from them, his old boyhood friends. His cook is a local man and creates the best cheese potatoes this side of Heaven. We have eaten all over the world and have found nothing to equal those cheese potatoes. Russell is descended from a long line of restaurant owners in Murrell's Inlet. When you enter his restaurant you immediately feel the goodness there.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    103
    49
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

TA steered us right once again with this place. If you're at Myrtle Beach area, this spot is worth the drive as we dined at MB for the first 4 days of our trip and my only regret was that we didn't find it sooner! Absolutely the freshest seafood and the service wad unpretentious and impeccable. We had 2 young kids with us and place was super accommodating! To Russell and the rest of his crew: great job, keep it up!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We were met at the door & welcomed by Russell. Russell surely set the tone for the evening. Our wait was to be about 20 mins. So, we opted to go into the crowded bar. The bar keep spotted us across the crowded room & welcomed us with her best smile. She then promptly filled our order & even found us an open table. Outstanding service & good food. Give Russells a try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best food on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

To begin with. Do not try to find this place with a GPS. It is located beside the bay on restaurant row. From the outside it looks very quaint, but the inside was cozy and beachy.
The waitress, Trisha was very informative about the menu and the service speed was exceptional. The food quality was prestine and truly a 5 star seafood dinner. The total check was 100, 4 people, all with appetizers and main courses. I would say it was average pricing, but the food quality should demand higher prices. Russell the owner spoke to us serveral times and checked on our experience. As we were leaving he thanked us again, shook our hand, and ask us to come back. He is a local and his family has worked the business for many years. Being a restaraunt owner, I can truly appreciate what he has going in here in Murrells Inlet. We will return in the future.
Thank you again for the experience.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Makes you wish you were a regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Russell's made me wish I was a regular visitor so I could enjoy the food and atmosphere more often. The moment I arrived, Russell himself shook my hand and greeted me as I walked through the door. He made it a point to stop by and make conversation, which I found absolutely charming. The place just drips with character and local color. And the food itself is fantastic - fresh, excellently prepared, and full of flavor. The entire experience was wonderful. I will be sure to eat here every time I return to the Myrtle Beach area.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.