We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Family Restaurant

Spring House Family Restaurant
3841 Highway 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5010
843-357-2785
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This restaurant has the best atmosphere: very pretty decorations, light and airy, comfortable seating, and even has birds singing from cages located on an upper level. Kind of like visiting your grandmother on a really good day. We went for breakfast and loved the food. The large menu offers a ton of selection; we had an amazing cream cheese stuffed french toast, lobster omelet, and an egg and spinach wrap. All were quite delicious, and far better food than you could ever expect to get at a Waffle House. The service was excellent. My husband and I each had our own pots of coffee. We will definitely go back to this restaurant. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

While vacationing in the area, we were headed to Waffle House and noticed a nearby restaurant (Spring House) that had a large number of cars in the parking lot. Figuring that it must be good based on the crowd, we decided to eat there rather than the Waffle House. This was a big mistake. Our server was almost surly, and after bringing our food (and the check with it) she never came back to check on us the entire meal. We both ordered breakfast (served until 2:00 each day when the restaurant closes), and our meals were not good. I was unable to order cheese eggs (like Waffle House) because it would "make the griddle dirty", so we all went with eggs, bacon, home fries or hash browns, and toast. The food was not cooked as ordered and some of it was burnt. I would rate this a notch below Shoney's/Big Boy restaurants and would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always make sure we stop here while on vacation. My husband loves the crab eggs benedict. I ordered the"pecan" waffle. I asked if the pecan were actually in the battery and was told yes. Well guys what.....they weren't. They were just sprinkled on top. I was quiet annoyed when I received my breakfast. Not too mention it took forever for the food to come out. My husband also ordered chocolate chip pancakes which never arrived and he had to "remind" the waitress about the order. I am pretty sure she forgot to put the order in all together. When she did, she charged us for a chocolate chip waffle which was more. The good overall was good but the service was lacking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food. Great service. Decor a bit old.Very nice wait staff. Very attentive. Delicious breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Give It A Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have had breakfast here (very good and tasty) and also a lunch with gyro and Greek salad. Very friendly hostess and staff. They do everything possible to make sure you are pleased and feel welcome. Always enjoy returning when I am in the area. Open for breakfast and lunch only.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring House Family Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Spring House Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.