We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a MUST see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
1931 Brookgreen Dr, U.S. Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-235-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Pinckney MI.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This place is a MUST see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wonderful, beautiful, creative, interesting and a must see! As a visitor to the area, I bought a 2-for -1 admission on Groupon and almost feel guilty we didn't pay full price to get in. I wasn't sure what to expect, just figured it was a nice garden. WRONG! Oh, so wrong. It is beautifully manicured gardens, beautiful century+ old trees, wonderful sculptures, fountains, flowers and a zoo (including an awesome aviary) all winding through 9,000 acres of land. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and marvelled at the beauty of it all, including the alligator sunning himself at the side of one of the many ponds. The ticket is good for 7 consecutive days and truly you can't see everything in one day. We went back on a second day, and still not sure we saw it all. What a wonderful way to spend a day. I will definitely return when in the area and I highly recommend it -it's for everyone, all ages. Just be sure you are ready to walk-it's huge. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,250
    157
    31
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like An Outdoor Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was breathtaking, Loved the scenery, enjoyed the walk, beautiful day, it did take us a total of 7 hours to complete all of it, which we split up into 2 days, It was too much for 1 day, especially with a 5 year old. The only disappointment was the Labyrinth, It was just a maze on the ground, without trees, more for pushing a stroller around maybe...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Every visit as I am a Family membership holder, is a special experience. Special events are wonderful and first class. I occasionally take my clients for lunch to add credibility of location location location

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something for the adults and the kids, everyone was happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a beautiful garden. We spent the afternoon/evening there. The children (11 and 6) were given a booklet with questions they had to answer which kept them focused and busy the whole time. The sculptures and gardens are magnificent, the only complaint the 6 year old was too many statues in the nude! So funny! The Allee of Oaks is breathtaking and I could have just sat there for half a day enjoying the serenity. We did the boat ride which was super fun, we went at 5.30pm, and got to see 3 alligators, a turtle, several birds and the highlight an Osprey who was sitting in a tree with a huge fish under one claw which he had obviously just caught. The children's zoo was also lovely, and the girls loved seeing some animals they haven't seen before. The scenic walk from the boat to the zoo took us along a board walk which had several Cardinals in the trees, which we were all excited to see as they are the Virginian state bird and we hardly see them there, but they were abundant here at Brookgreen. It is one of the few attractions that I have been able to enjoy without my 6 year crying "Bored" after half an hour. Everyone went home happy!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Splendor in the spring in South Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Simply outstanding is the best description. There is a very organized arrival. It is a good idea to watch the introductory film. There is a wide expanse to explore walking. Beautiful statues are well placed throughout the property. In the spring, the colors are just spectacular. There are many birds and squirrels who are quite at home, Numerous fountains add to the items to be observed. It is hard to imagine plantation life that once was here but it is easy to understand what motivated the restoration of what is now a sustainable site to enjoy art and nature. There is plenty of room to walk in. There are guided tours available and additional attractions. Makes for a very enjoyable time spent outdoors. The tickets issued are good for several days so if you have the time set aside a couple of days for a series of short visits. There are of course places to dine while you are visiting but did not try these.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookgreen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.