We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
1931 Brookgreen Dr, U.S. Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-235-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
cashiers, nc
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really worth the time and money. The gardens were just starting to bloom, the statues were lovely, the walking path was exceptional! I could certainly see why anyone who lives close enough would have a season pass! The zoo portion was better than expected, with a great walking trail. The tickets were valid for a full week and I only wish we could have gone back! They were having a Butterfly exhibit while we were there that was very informative and my 6.5 year old niece went crazy over.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,107
    135
    29
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful gardens, thousands of acres over 4 plantations, tons of sculptures by an amazing woman artist that was a cornerstone to the community. If you have time to include the 'Treck' excurtion, it is worth it to learn about the great history of the area and lands. A boat ride is also offered to view places around the plantations not accessible otherwise. Best part of the admission into the gardens, is that your passes are good for 7 days...yes one week. You can go back as many times as you would like. There is a butterfly conservatory open during the spring/summer. A zoo is also included in your admission to see local area wildlife. Avairy is very natural for the birds to habitat there. The gardens are so large, they offer a free tram to drive you to different sections of the gardens & zoo. This is a great attraction for the price you pay!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a family day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our first visit to the Myrtle Beach area started off beautifully at Brookgreen Gardens. Of course kit was enhanced by the inclusion of our 17 month old Grandson and his Mommies. We highly recommend adding this to your list of activities and do browse for promo coupons. Don't miss the Otters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“SPRINGTIME AT BROOKGREEN IS A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you've never been to Brookgreen, it is worth the drive south of Myrtle Beach on Hwy. 17 and worth the price. Plan at least an hour and a half. We return year after year and still love it. This week the tulips were glorious! Beds and beds of daffodils. Azaleas of every color. Camelias still blooming in several colors, also. You will be amazed at the sculptures!! There is a special section for children with places to hide and run. Fountains, gift shop, and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the scenery or rest. Only complaint is prices of items in gift shop are much too high. I know many are handmade but there should be more that are affordable to the average family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aviary to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We returned to Brookgreen Gardens again. It is an absolutely beautiful park. My favorite part this time was their aviary in the zoo. You walk into an aviary with many types of birds flying free under the enormous net tent. It is a wonderful experience. The birds had nests with babies. The babies were also in trees everywhere. There are many other animals, but this was my favorite. They also have a butterfly house with plants that really set off your photos of the butterflies. You really need more than one day here as there are also flowers, history and many art exhibits.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookgreen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.