We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday @ Brookgreen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
1931 Brookgreen Dr, U.S. Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-235-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Monday @ Brookgreen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Haven't been to Brookgreen in several years, but when we returned to MB, our hotel package included tickets there. Now they've added a "zoo", which we enjoyed, but not a real zoo. The guided walking tour was included, but the docent didn't seem as knowledgeable as she should have been. We paid extra for the boat tour, but the guide was much more knowledgeable and much better. Enjoyed the gardens overall. The ticket is good for a return visit within 7 days. Our digital camera needed charging and upon asking about taking photos in the butterfly exhibit on the return visit, was told, I would have to pay to do this, which I felt was unfair. I only wanted to take some quick shots, not linger for long. Not sure about returning there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    137
    29
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wlkesboro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Carts for disabled people ruined our outing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband does not use a walker or wheelchair but is 89 with breathing problems so I called ahead to see if they had wheelchairs for the wildlife trail. The lady said no but we have carts. I said are they like the buggies with big fat tires and she said yes. After we rode the tram (that's another story as my sister and I both found the driver rude) to the beginning of the trail, we found buggies with hard plastic molded seats, rusted handles and wheels. The worst though was the tires which were not big but solid hard rubber and worn down past the tread. Many places it took both of us to push him (154lbs) with the tires squeaking and pulling to the left. It was just horrible. My 4th trip there and my sister's 1st. She said she liked alligator adventures better because in Brookgreen in so many habitats, you cannot see the animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Amazing place to walk among the sculptures and even a small zoo of animals. Plan at least three hours

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Brookgreen Gardens is definitely a "Must See!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the Gardens since moving to SC in 2005. We were members until last year: Only because of finances. Still, we try to visit at least twice a year. And even though we’ve been coming here for over 7 years now, we’ve still not seen everything. It’s absolutely wonderful and a definite “Must See.”

There are a number of special events at the Gardens; some of which are for members only. We had always gone to the “Members Only – Plant Sale.” We’d gotten many wonderful plants at very reasonable prices, and a lot of helpful advice by some extremely knowledgeable people.

One of our favorite events is, “Nights of a Thousand Candles.” It’s quite spectacular. They usually start setting up for this event in September. It’s an enormous undertaking. It usually kicks-off on the second week of December and runs ‘till a few days before Christmas. It’s another ‘must see’ event. And while your there, you might want to stay for dinner. It’s a catered event. The food is excellent, plentiful and reasonably priced.

And speaking of food, they’ve got a very nice restaurant on premise. The Pavilion Restaurant has excellent food and at very reasonable prices. Our favorite lunchtime fare is the Brookgreen Signature Sandwich and their homemade potato chips. It’s outstanding!

Enjoy your visit. God bless.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Grounds & Sculptures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a must see. The grounds are so beautiful and the shop there is delightful. The art work is something to behold.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookgreen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.