We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
1931 Brookgreen Dr, U.S. Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-235-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Local treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A truly magical place. Anna Hyatt Huntington's sculpture gallery. The ticket is good for several days, and you may need them. Lots to see and do. A relic of days gone by.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    135
    29
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My father and mother went and want stop talking about it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It seems as thought this is the place to check out if the beach is not where you want to be. My father had a great time and will not stop talking about it. Evidently the tickets are good for about 6 days. They went back twice. Gardens, butterflies, otters at play, birds...... I did not go. It seemed like a lot of chasing my two year old twins around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place to visit over the week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I finally got to the Gardens after three visits to Pawley's Island. I wish that I had gone earlier in the week. Your entrance ticket is good for seven day. I took one of the tours, which cost an additional $7, but we had an excellent tour driver and it was very educational. I plan to go back and check out the zoo( free with entrance) and the butterfly house(also an additional cost). I enjoyed their gift shop and the statues in the garden are just amazing. I think going early and seeing a bit each day would be the best way to visit such a large place. There are activities going on all during the day so it will take a good bit of time to see it all. I definitely will come back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Brookgreen Gardens is a must see!! Beautiful place for the family(all ages). The weeping trees,and the flowers are the most beautiful things you could imagine. You can also take a cruise aroind what use to be the Rice Fields and learn a little Black History about Slavery(INTERESTING). There is also a small Zoo,fun for the kids....and the kid at heart:). And don,t forget to visit the Butterfly House....A lot to do for the kids too!! Cost a small fee..but you can use your admission ticket for 7 days WOW!!! GREAT DEAL!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens with sculpture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently spent the better part of two days at this lovely, peaceful garden. We especially loved the way the sculpture was placed among the water features and different garden areas. If we lived closer, we would become members so we could come often to enjoy it. We were welcomed by a staff member who explained the best way to tour and gave us a copy of the schedule of events and an additional walking tour map. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookgreen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.