We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special & unusual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookgreen Gardens

Brookgreen Gardens
1931 Brookgreen Dr, U.S. Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-235-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 9,170-acre green park located 16 miles south of Myrtle Beach.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Special & unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent 3.5 hours.....a wonderful afternoon despite impending rain. Made it through in the nick of time!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    135
    29
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden, great art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Entering the gardens is a first wow. It is a great mixture of garden and art. We spent there two days and never got bored. We recommend to walk all the loops. There is so much to see and enjoy. Perfect place to get away from the crowds!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful gardens of flowers and sculptures. Takes more than one visit to see and do it all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“THE BEST OF THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Gosh....where do i start? Brookgreen is affordable ($12), huge, has 3 places to eat or snack, mountains of statues and sculptures, beautiful landscaping and immaculate up-keep. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a tram that takes you to several different points. Several tours are FREE each day. There is an interesting zoo with 2 tours. I can't rave enough about this place! The most sculptures I have ever seen anywhere. There is an inside building that you should not miss. It houses many, many pieces and plays a DVD that explains how these are made. Very informative. Stuff we never knew before. The ticket is good for 7 days and it's the good thing. I am 70 and needed 3 days to do it all. There is much walking and all areas are beautiful to breathe in nature. The only negative thing is the map is not that helpful and you can miss some good stuff if you are not careful. The gardens are not set up to be easily accesible for less walking n an easy pattern. But no matter-you have 7 days. Parking is good and free. DON'T MISS THIS! it's about 20 miles south of Myrtle Beach and worth every mile. I still didn't get enough of it. I would go back in a heart beat. Furthemore....on Wednesdays they have an African sing-a-long that is not to be missed! The man, (who has a PHD) has a voice from heaven and you feel the very soul of the slaves as they sang in the fields. You get to join in and there is some chant type singing. It was wonderful! Cudos to the interactive prgrams available! ENJOY!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thank goodness they provide seven-day tickets!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This National Historic Landmark had its beginning in 1931. Comprising something like 9,000 acres(No, you don't need to cover it all), you can walk under canopies of centuries-old Live Oaks, while admiring museum-quality sculpture at every vista. Toss in thousands of flowering and evergreen plants, shrubs, and trees, add several fountains, and you have an unending visual feast.

There is a free trolley to get you to a couple of venues, although walking is quite easy given the flat terrain (Might not work, though, on a hot, humid South Carolina day).

Also featured are an introductory video, a Butterfly House, a small zoo, a Kids Corner,a small museum, three places for food, pontoon boat cruises (extra charge), ATV rides (ditto), trail walks, and guided tours. And, lest we forget, there is well-stocked gift shop. A very pleasant place. Just remember the sun screen and a hat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookgreen Gardens also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brookgreen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookgreen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.