We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wachesaw Plantation (not to be confused with Wachesaw Plantation East)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wachesaw Plantation

Wachesaw Plantation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murrells Inlet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wachesaw Plantation
Save
You added Wachesaw Plantation to your Saves list
1930 Governors Landing, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wachesaw Plantation (not to be confused with Wachesaw Plantation East)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have stayed at Wachesaw Plantation East (“WPE”) on 3 separate occasions over the past few years using a timeshare exchange; the most recent stay was in February 2012. The condos were adequate and I opted to stay there rather than Myrtle Beach (which naturally has more options) because of location. WPE should not be confused with Wachesaw Plantation (“WP”) which is located nearby. WP is a private location – no timeshares, but private homes and cottages. I stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath Oak Grove Cottage which I located through VRBO.com. It was absolutely wonderful! Private, quiet, beautiful grounds and the condo was tastefully and lovingly decorated by the owner. The old oak trees lining the streets are amazing. At the end of our 2 weeks last summer, I immediately booked the same condo for July 2013.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Wachesaw during the first week in October 2012 as an exchange for our Unit in NH. The Resort from the outside is lovely, the golf course is in great shape, the landscaping well done, main office is welcoming and modern. Indoor Pool area could use some updating but acceptable. Then you get into your Unit...the only positive thing I can say about it is that it was very spacious for a 2 bedroom. This place needs a severe facelift. Its unfortunate that I feel compelled to write this but as an interval member that has stayed in several exhange properties, this property really misses the mark. Not even comparable to any unit I have stayed in over the last 5 years. The furniture in the living room was bordering on thread bear, The rugs are stained, stains and damage exist on several walls in each room of the unit, pictures that were once on the walls are missing, chipped countertops, laundry units that take hours to dry your clothes, a tub that didnt drain (they came to fix after we called)...and on and on. If it is Managements job to check on the the ongoing maintenance and appearance of the Unit, they must be wearing a blindfold. And.... If 1C-2 is privately owned, it should not be rented until the neccessary updates and repairs are complete. I mean, even the Holiday Inn has flat screen TV's, this unit does not!!! On the upside, we had a great week weather wise and did not spend that much time in the Unit. The location is conveniently located near Brookgreen Gardens, Huntington Beach and Park, and lots of dining options. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful, its a shame that the condition of the unit detracts from their professionalism. We understood that we were staying a Phase I condo when we booked but the condition of our unit was absolutely unacceptable. If you have a timeshare and are considering an exchange for this property, stay away from Phase I.

Room Tip: Stay out of phase I unless you have been assured of recent updates to the units
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Smelled horrible....old....disgusting furniture....small closet like door separating units which made for a noisy stay. Ceiling fans were dirty. Wouldn't walk around without shoes on insdide the units. Bathroom was small, old, could use a paint job and certainly could have been cleaner.
Not what you would expect from a Gold star rating.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

My rating may be a bit overly harsh, but the more I stay in time shares, the higher my expectations are. The unit was a one bedroom and was well furnished. It had a screened in porch but we had to go outside and then enter the porch; there was not an entrance directly from the unit. We did not participate in any of the resort's activities. None of them interested us. We did listen to their sales spiel. Only afterwards did we realize that it was only for a $25 gift card. Once we said "No" they did not bother us. Check in and check out were easy and expeditious. At check in the representative volunteered the information that they had hang tag passes to Huntington State Beach, only a couple miles away. We ended up going over there almost every day. The beach was wide and clean. The water deepened very gradually, making it an ideal beach for families. There was plenty of parking. Murrell's Inlet is 5-10 miles south of Myrtle Beach. We drove to Myrtle Beach one rainy day and my wife and I discovered what we had suspected; Myrtle Beach is not our cup of tea. High rises line the ocean side of the main drag for miles on end. It reminds me of Virginia Beach and Ocean City MD. While many will like the "where it's at" atmosphere, we like a slower speed. The unheated resort pool was run-of-the-mill and actually chilly the day after the rain. Murrell's Inlet has many restaurants, with the emphasis on seafood, much of it fried. Our best experience was at a Japanese restaurant, whose name escapes me. We did not play golf, but supposedly the course attached to the resport is very nice. Overall the resort and the area met our expectations. Would we go back? Yes, for a lazy beach week and relaxation.

  • Liked — Location near beach
  • Disliked — Had to pay $34 per week for internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

I had expected a working pool and hot tub and there were neither. The pool was cold and dirty and the hot tub wasn't hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2003

This is a wonderful place to stay and visit the Grand Strand of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. This is a Private Country Club with two bedroom cottages that may be rented for short or long term rental. As a guest you have access to the waterfront restaruant, pool, tennis and the Tom Fazio Golf course, which is probably the number one course in the Carolians, play it and you'll see why. They have passes to Huntington State Park, less than ten minutes your at one of the best beachs you will see in South Carolina. If you get to this area be sure to stop by and ask to see the rental cottages for next year vacation, you will be very impress with the Southern Hospitality. The golf course is closed on Mondays, but stop in at the pro shop and see if they will let you play at Sponsor rates. If you rent at the cottages you already have access. Go there web site at ... for information on getting there. This is a 5 star resort in my book it is hard to find since is located on the waterway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wachesaw Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachesaw Plantation

Address: 1930 Governors Landing, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby Beaches....Flexible check-in days. Fun in the sun strolling nearby Garden City Beach and Fishing Pier and Huntington Beach State Park. Enjoy dining at Kimbels restaurant, picking up a to-go order at our snack shop and enjoy swimming in our sparkling pool (April - September). Maintenance free living includes concierge service. Murrells Inlet is the seafood capitol of South Carolina featuring the beautiful Marsh Walk with a variety of restaurants to suite any taste. Enjoy shopping at the Inlet Square Mall, The Lazy Gator Gift Shop; nearby Tanger Outlets and Coastal Grand Mall. Walking tours at Brookgreen Gardens with nearby Huntington Beach State Park. Launch your boat at the Wacca Wache Marina. Book a boat tour or deep sea fishing outing, rent jet skis and boats at Captain Dick's Marina. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wachesaw Plantation Hotel Murrells Inlet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wachesaw Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.