We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick family getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wachesaw Plantation

Wachesaw Plantation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murrells Inlet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wachesaw Plantation
1694 Riverwood Drive, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Davie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick family getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of the property was very good. Basically 20-25 minutes from all major Myrtle Beach attractions. This was a family outing and I did not hit the lynx but from what I saw the golf course looked very nice and we'll maintained. We stayed in an upgraded 2 bedroom unit on the third floor but I felt the furniture was dated. The bathroom was also a little below par with damage to wall adjacent to shower which was an eyesore. The staff was very friendly and helpful in getting us attraction tickets and directions. Huntington state park is a great place to spend the day with the family and only 5 minutes from the property. Its an access only park so the beach never gets too crowded. Murrels inlet only 5 minute drive and a nice little town with great local restaurants. Overall a nice quick getaway and reasonably priced but probably would not return

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was the filthiest place we have ever seen. From the moment we opened our doors and entered...the walls were filthy and I don't mean from just luggage being dragged up. We saw full hand prints, things were splattered all over in EVERY room, on EVERY wall! We called the front desk, they sent up housekeeping, I said housekeeping wouldn't be able to fix this this was filthy even the furniture was stained and pieces of the formica on the kitchen counters were broken off etc. They said they were sold out, after I complained and complained, they gave us another key to another room to look it, it was just as bad. We checked out. We didn't stay here. I will never come back and unfortunately my entire family was exhausted and was so looking forward to going to sleep. This was DISGUSTING!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Smelled horrible....old....disgusting furniture....small closet like door separating units which made for a noisy stay. Ceiling fans were dirty. Wouldn't walk around without shoes on insdide the units. Bathroom was small, old, could use a paint job and certainly could have been cleaner.
Not what you would expect from a Gold star rating.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

My rating may be a bit overly harsh, but the more I stay in time shares, the higher my expectations are. The unit was a one bedroom and was well furnished. It had a screened in porch but we had to go outside and then enter the porch; there was not an entrance directly from the unit. We did not participate in any of the resort's activities. None of them interested us. We did listen to their sales spiel. Only afterwards did we realize that it was only for a $25 gift card. Once we said "No" they did not bother us. Check in and check out were easy and expeditious. At check in the representative volunteered the information that they had hang tag passes to Huntington State Beach, only a couple miles away. We ended up going over there almost every day. The beach was wide and clean. The water deepened very gradually, making it an ideal beach for families. There was plenty of parking. Murrell's Inlet is 5-10 miles south of Myrtle Beach. We drove to Myrtle Beach one rainy day and my wife and I discovered what we had suspected; Myrtle Beach is not our cup of tea. High rises line the ocean side of the main drag for miles on end. It reminds me of Virginia Beach and Ocean City MD. While many will like the "where it's at" atmosphere, we like a slower speed. The unheated resort pool was run-of-the-mill and actually chilly the day after the rain. Murrell's Inlet has many restaurants, with the emphasis on seafood, much of it fried. Our best experience was at a Japanese restaurant, whose name escapes me. We did not play golf, but supposedly the course attached to the resport is very nice. Overall the resort and the area met our expectations. Would we go back? Yes, for a lazy beach week and relaxation.

  • Liked — Location near beach
  • Disliked — Had to pay $34 per week for internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

I had expected a working pool and hot tub and there were neither. The pool was cold and dirty and the hot tub wasn't hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2003

This is a wonderful place to stay and visit the Grand Strand of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. This is a Private Country Club with two bedroom cottages that may be rented for short or long term rental. As a guest you have access to the waterfront restaruant, pool, tennis and the Tom Fazio Golf course, which is probably the number one course in the Carolians, play it and you'll see why. They have passes to Huntington State Park, less than ten minutes your at one of the best beachs you will see in South Carolina. If you get to this area be sure to stop by and ask to see the rental cottages for next year vacation, you will be very impress with the Southern Hospitality. The golf course is closed on Mondays, but stop in at the pro shop and see if they will let you play at Sponsor rates. If you rent at the cottages you already have access. Go there web site at ... for information on getting there. This is a 5 star resort in my book it is hard to find since is located on the waterway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wachesaw Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachesaw Plantation

Address: 1694 Riverwood Drive, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Wachesaw Plantation Hotel Murrells Inlet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wachesaw Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wachesaw Plantation to your Saves list