We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was heavily recommended from locals.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of salt water creek

salt water creek
4660 highway 17 bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
8433572433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Eastover, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Was heavily recommended from locals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I think the overall experience was just ok. I was expecting alot more on the inside showing how much effort was put into making the outside dining area appealing. We ordered the fried oyster app and I was really suprised about the size of the order in relation to the price they charge...the fried green tomatoes were heavenly however... and the Rhett Butler sandwich was awesome. Our waitress could been alot better though. It was not busy at all considering the hour but she seemed to have better things to do than check on our table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    65
    25
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Could Be So Much Better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Moved into the area in June. The restaurant is decorated nicely with seating inside and out. It is conveniently located for us. My husband and I have tried this place together, separately and with a business associate, lunch, dinner & brunch at various times, in tourist season and out. Service is ALWAYS SO SLOW even when not very busy! There must not be enough kitchen staff. It appears the wait staff has to cover inside all throughout and outside rather than having assigned areas of the restaurant. This makes good coverage of tables difficult for waiters. Some do not appear to be trained. Just showing up occasionally if they happen to think about it doesn't get the job done. Waiters often disappear for extended periods of time and some definitely have "attitude". There is usually a longer than necessary wait to receive your check after eating and I have had to go to the bar to find someone to pay my check several times. Just because a person eats alone doesn't mean they should get poor service (maybe this is the reason women have a reputation for poor tipping). Food has been good, not so good and cold, portions are not consistent from one visit to the next. Since the restaurant seems consistently busy, perhaps they are not concerned. Not likely to go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure every restaurant has off days, but after our 6th visit, we've yet to walk away disappointed. Everything we've tried is fresh and delicious, no exceptions. Our compliments to the chef and the experienced, friendly wait staff for consistently meeting our expectations each and every time. It's become our favorite place for reasonably priced early bird specials when visiting the area. Don't pass on this place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good place for whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tried this for the first time with 4 adults and two kids, 9 and 4. Menu had a lot of choices and kids' menu was good too. Large fresh salads and homemade desserts. Seafood, steak, chicken, pizza and sushi. We enjoyed our meal and the good service and will be back on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“quaint and cute beach restaurant near inlet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice diverse menu (offering early bird) specials nightly. Great appetizer calamari with Chili sauce..also fresh salads..try the fried shrimps. Nice and lightly dusted..steaks are a good choice for the meat lovers. Wait staff is attentive and prompt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed salt water creek also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to salt water creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage salt water creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.