We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little joint with a wicked front porch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creek Ratz

Creek Ratz
4065 Highway 17 S, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-357-2891
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 111 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun little joint with a wicked front porch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Always fun to pop in here for a cold adult drink and some oysters or other snack and watch the sunset. So happy this place is thriving. Food's good, not great. But service has always been good and light-hearted when I've stopped by. Lunch is always a good deal as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    81
    45
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fried food and bar food only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went out for a late dinner and the GPS sent us to Hwy 17 instead of Business 17 so we missed our chance to eat at the nicer sister restaurant. Instead, we ended up in this smoky bar (that is supposed to be non-smoking) with fried food and bar food in a place that's supposed to have the best seafood in the area. What a disappointment. We spent $50 with tip on very average bar food and two drinks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We received a tip to eat here and they were right. The food was good and the service was even better. The wait was long so we ended up sitting at two tables in the bar area. The bartender was our waitress and she was great. My husband loved his crab cake, the kids loved the fried shrimp and I had the shrimp grits, which were some of the best I had ever had!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, expected better menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was here on a Sat. evening, first meal after having arrived at the beach. Atmosphere was good, open air on the marshwalk. Great views for those outside and crowd seemed to be enjoying the evening. We were located just inside the doors and could hear the music. Was somewhat disappointed in the menu selection...seemed heavier on the sandwiches/pizza rather than dinner. I did have the crabcakes which were decent, but the sides of fries and slaw were just okay. I expected more seafood options for dinner, most were only available fried. Two children with us frowned at the children's menu and chose to split the serving of crab legs, no sides with it.

Would probably enjoyed it more as a casual appetizers and drinks, rather than a family dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only place to eat in Murrells inlet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the best place place to eat. All the food is great. When I get off the plane this is where i head to. I was here in August.Great food great view of the Marsh. They had a group of young kids playing music outside. They sounded really good. The wait staff would get side tracked every now and then, but all in all they did a good job.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creek Ratz also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Creek Ratz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creek Ratz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.