We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite courses at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wachesaw Plantantion East

Wachesaw Plantantion East
Murrells Inlet, SC
888-922-0027; 843-357-5252
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on a former rice plantation just outside Myrtle Beach, this course features rolling fairways.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“One of my favorite courses at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This course is always in great condition and a friendly staff. It is one of only 2 courses I play every year when we travel to the beach from PA. I always try new places to play, but Wachesaw is a given when I book my tee times. A must play in the MB area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, Usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This course is one of our favorite to play. The only thing I regret is To play it again in the afternoon. (Replay) The green was fantastic.
The layout was very nice. The Pro shop was pleasant. I will be there next year.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're travelling to Murrell's Inlet, this hotel is a great find. We travelled here prior to Memorial Day (the weekend of May 9th) and there were minimal occupants. We practically had the pool and hot tub to ourselves for most of our stay.

This particular phase of the hotel is older and dated but clean and centrally located to literally EVERYTHING. After all, how much time are you going to spend in your hotel room anyway? Unless you're honeymooners... ;)

We had two teenage kids with us so it was important to be close to everything. It took us minutes to get to any restaurant, Huntington Beach, or even Myrtle Beach.

Here are some budget-friendly recommendations for your stay:

For beach access, we pay the $50.00 refundable deposit through the hotel's front desk and go to Huntington Beach:

http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/huntingtonbeach/introduction.aspx


For groceries, we used Food Lion almost right there at Ellington. But there are many other options... Wal-Mart, CVS etc.

Garden City Pancake House on 2908 S Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet is a great, inexpensive breakfast place.

We went to Drunken Jacks at 4031 US 17 for seafood. Our meals (and dessert, of course!) were outstanding. The service was great. The place was really hoppin' as it was located on the boardwalk. It is a bit on the pricey side, though, in case you're travelling with children that have adult appetites like ours do. :)

After you eat here, you can walk off dinner on the boardwalk and feel the inlet breeze while listening to music from the various bar/restaurants.

From this hotel, you aren't far from Myrtle Beach and all they have to offer. We went zip lining at Myrtle Beach Zipline Adventures. Great fun! (And the Groupon makes the cost more palatable).

Last but not least, if you're ice cream fanatics - checkout Painters Homemade Ice Cream at 2115 S Hwy 17, Murrells Inlet. De-lish!

Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you enjoy golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This course was in excellent condition, tee to green, The fairways were plush and the greens roll true. It is beautiful and my wife loved it. Some places don't seem to understand that the ladies would like level tee boxes with grass and a layout where they can hit greens in regulation but this course had both. The assistant pro. Jon Lust, made us feel like members and was very helpful with ideas for additional golf, dinners, etc. during our visit to Myrtle Beach. We would definitely play this course again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Women golfers from Wisconsin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This resort was excellent. We were able to be on the golf course to view people coming off the 18th hole..it was a golfers dream. The course was great, people were friendly and the accommodations were fabulous. The internet was slow but they were updating the system in the next couple of months. Definitely will return.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wachesaw Plantantion East also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Wachesaw Plantantion East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wachesaw Plantantion East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wachesaw Plantantion East to your Saves list