We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well on a cool and rainy spring break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1303 A Tadlock Drive, US 17 Bus. and US 17 Bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Murrells Inlet
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worked well on a cool and rainy spring break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If the weather had been warm and sunny I would have certainly chosen a hotel closer to the beach, but our spring break 2013 turned out to be cool and rainy. This hotel worked just fine for what we needed, which was a place to crash between area indoor activities. The beds were very comfortable, the hotel pool was decent, and breakfast was pretty good. We had a two-room suite and our golden retriever was allowed to be there with us, so all in all it was a good spot. Don't count this one out when looking for lodging in the Myrtle Beach area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear kellyuttgrubb,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed weekend of April 5th. Came in with a Hotel Coupons magazine coupon but would not take it claiming they were really busy so the price would not be honored. Got AAA rate. Beds were not comfortable at all - just double beds - not queen size. Room was decent but bathroom floors were dated - had a bit of mold. Shower had a long hair on the tile and one of my son's had a long hair tangled in his towel when he was drying himself so that was not nice at all.

Breakfast was very good - the breakfast attendee was very friendly and helpful with a smile always.

Just felt that at $135 with AAA discount a bit steep for the type of room and bit dated bathroom.

Last morning, we wanted to try and sleep until 9 am at least but we were all woken up by housekeeping knocking on doors down the hallway and after each knock shouting "housekeeping!!". This kept going on and on despite the fact we had a "do not disturb" sign on the door so we did not get to sleep a bit more like we wanted to.

Staff was very friendly however. Not sure if we'd like to go back though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear lulycelsa,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed our breakfast options with hot items. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you received that did not live up to your expectation. We're sorry if we were not able to honor your hotel magazine coupons and any inconvenience the outside noise may have caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Murrells Inlet hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rooms seemed somewhat dated. Television reception was fuzzy, Bathrooms were very tight, & the hot tub in the room was difficult to keep hot. Somewhat convient to Broadway & the Beach. Very close to several dining options

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed here a few times before staff is very accomodating,Rooms are clean service is good. Location is very good close to shopping and a few blocks from the beach.Breakfast is very good and staff is very attentive to make sure that you are satisfied.The only problem is the room service in thew am they are a bit lax on checking to make sure that the room was completed missed 2 out of 3 days.Overall I would still stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Matt K,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the overall level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I am sorry about the problems you encountered with with room service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Murrell's Inlet, SC before but had not taken time to enjoy the breakfast buffet on other trips. On this trip we were very happy to meet Diana who is the overseer of the morning breakfast buffet. The management is blessed to have such a caring, accomodating lady who works very hard to make sure the guest are well taken care of. I watched for 3 mornings as she constantly kept the breakfast bar replenished and even offered to make items that were not on the buffet available to my husband! We had a two bedroom suite and wish the suite had two bathrooms. With 4 adults and 1 child, another bath would have been great! Noise through the walls was only drawback to a wonderful stay at Murrell's Inlet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were happy with the hotel. The breakfast is more than adequate with cereals, fruit, yogurt, eggs, pancakes, cinnamon rolls etc. The beds are comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was friendly. The indoor pool is directly off of the breakfast area and near the front desk, which for some might be a bit uncomfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is our 4th year staying at this property during the Thanksgiving holidays. My parents live in Murrells Inlet so this not only a convenient place to stay, but a hospitable property as well. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel has been completely renovated and it looks beautiful.
The rooms are clean, spacious, with most amenities that you would expect. The beds are firm and the pillows soft. The morning breakfasts are better than most "continental" breakfasts. Not only are there fresh scrambled and boiled eggs, but hot pancakes and sausage too. There is also an afternoon treat of cookies and fresh lemonaid.
The rates are affordable if not a downright good deal.
The location is exceptional if you're not looking for a beach side or water front retreat. It's within a stone's throw of the Inlet Mall, Cracker Barrell, and a number of other restaurants and shopping. It's right up the street from the infamous Murrells Inlet Restaurant Row and a few miles from Litchfield Plantation, Pawley's Island, Brookgreen Gardens, and Huntington Beach.

If you're looking for clean rooms, friendly staff, and a good value, then this property is worth a look.

Room Tip: The suites are large and a good deal. But, there is no full kitchen. Just a sink and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet

Address: 1303 A Tadlock Drive, US 17 Bus. and US 17 Bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Murrells Inlet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Murrells Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murrells Inlet is located in the heart of Murrells Inlet, convenient to Litchfield, Surfside Beach, Pawleys Island and just 12 miles from Myrtle Beach. Murrells Inlet offers great dining, entertainment, attractions and everything under the sun to make your vacation, event or business trip fun and memorable. You'll be amazed at the Hidden treasures located within minutes of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel and the Murrells Inlet area: Huntington State Park: Just 4 miles away and filled with adventures for adults and children of all ages at this amazing park. Enjoy the beach, bird sanctuary, sea turtles, seas oats, deep sea fishing, a sight seeing, bike trail or dinner cruise. Get back to nature and don t miss the education center featuring a saltwater tank, live baby alligators and more. Brookgreen Garden Plantation & Gardens: Enjoy the castle, animals, hand made sculptures, take a boat tour of rice patties and the gardens are spectacular. Ocean Sightseeing & Dolphin Watch: Enjoy the ocean sightseeing, kayaking, deep sea fishing, boat rentals, Jet Ski s or take a sight seeing tour or dinner cruise. Just twelve miles away you will find all the wonders of Myrtle Beach, including the FREEstyle Music Park, Broadway at the Beach, entertainment, dinner theaters, night life, golf, beaches and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet Hotel Murrells Inlet
Holiday Inn Murrells Inlet
Murrells Inlet Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Murrells Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.