We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Middletown, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The facility is conveniently located to the City of Charleston and points of interest surrounding. Our room was clean and plenty of space for us. The bathroom is small but was clean. The staff, more than helpful with info and a delight to chat with. Quiet nights and a comfortable bed. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Michael F.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a us a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We moved to this hotel after spending two nights in another hotel. It's close to just about everything restaurants and just across the Cooper river bridge to Charleston. The outside of the hotel was very clean and well kept. The room was clean, some of the furniture was dated. We had a leaky toilet and a work order was written at this time, but unfortunately didn't get fixed while we were there. It was no big inconvenience for us.

Room Tip: Bottom floor at the back of the hotel were good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Larry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights for our Fourth of July vacation. It was a good central location to Historic Charleston, Sullivan's Island, and Isle of Palms. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. It was cramped living quarters for 4 adults. The air conditioning was great, very nice and cool. We never ran out of hot water, in fact there was never any cool water. Skip the breakfast- too many good food options in this town to fill up on subpar food.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We came down to visit my Aunt who is dying of cancer...and called ahead of time to book the rooms. The staff told us one price on the phone and gave us a much higher price when we checked in. As we were checking in and complaining about the services the second assistant up front somehow assumed we were not going to stay the last two nights of our visit with them and rebooked our rooms for someone else...and wouldn't allow us to book the rest of our stay with them. We demanded to talk to a manager and were told she WAS the manager...we then demanded to talk to the owner and the manager on duty stated "what? So you can watch me get cussed out?!"... And refused to let us talk to them...then during the free breakfast in the morning...we arrived at around 9 a.m. to the breakfast room. As we were getting breakfast I was literally having food pulled away from me by the staff. I stated to them it was only 10 after 9 and the food was supposed to be out until 9:30 she replied..."yea...looks like the time changed today didn't it" FULL PLATTERS OF FOOD...taken up from me... Taken back by the remark and irrate that one of my daughters and wife didn't get to eat...we left our food where it sat and walked out...I have never seen such spitefulness and hatred towards guests...we will NEVER darken the doorway of the Clarion Inn again...and don't recommend it to ANYONE... We relocated ourselves to the Residence Inn by Marriott and it was AMAZING... and if the owner of the Clarion reads this...SHAME on you sir for not keeping a closer eye on your place of business...you should fire your entire staff

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here before and it was fine. In fact, a great deal for the money. So we decided to stay here again. It was an emergency trip with no reservations, and we only needed the room for sleep. First night, we arrived about 10 pm, was fine but room had an odor. That morning, we figured out what it was. The AC was clogged and water was running into the carpet and was mildewy. We left early that morning and came back late that night for the second night, still smelled. |We checked out next day. Breakfast was horrible and there was only one attendant trying to do breakfast and the front desk. She even yelled at one person that she was the only one there. Bad situation, but not the customer's problem. With other alternatives, we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here because the conference hotel for a meeting in Charleston was overbooked. This is well-situated, easy to reach even though it's across the river from Charleston. It is very clean, the pool is a real plus. The staff was very friendly, and it was about $25/night cheaper than the conference hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Fran_S_12_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked at last minute and were not disappointed. The location is great- right by Ravenel Bridge. Fantastic pool - and nobody else using it. The room was compact but nice decor and the bed to die for. Quiet location. Handy to have the laundry. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road but this was not a negative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear juliababy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston

Address: 310 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Pleasant, SC Clarion Inn(R) Mount Pleasant hotel is close to a number of popular area attractions, such as: Patriots Point Isle of Palms Beach Shem Creek Charleston Historic District Fort Sumter Visitors will enjoy driving across the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge (Cooper River Bridge) that connects Mount Pleasant with downtown Charleston and is the only access point to the Sullivans Island barrier community. The Charleston Open Air Market and the charming town of Ft. Moultrie are also close to this Mount Pleasant, SC hotel. You are invited to relax in our picnic area and enjoy the many amenities at the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls Seasonal outdoor pool Business travelers will also have access to copy and fax services. In addition to standard amenities, all rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons with boards and cable television. Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. If you are looking for inviting accommodations and excellent rates, then the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel is the perfect place to call home in South Carolina. Book a room with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Comfort Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.