We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time - NOT a charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston to your Saves list
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second Time - NOT a charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here before and it was fine. In fact, a great deal for the money. So we decided to stay here again. It was an emergency trip with no reservations, and we only needed the room for sleep. First night, we arrived about 10 pm, was fine but room had an odor. That morning, we figured out what it was. The AC was clogged and water was running into the carpet and was mildewy. We left early that morning and came back late that night for the second night, still smelled. |We checked out next day. Breakfast was horrible and there was only one attendant trying to do breakfast and the front desk. She even yelled at one person that she was the only one there. Bad situation, but not the customer's problem. With other alternatives, we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
44
49
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here because the conference hotel for a meeting in Charleston was overbooked. This is well-situated, easy to reach even though it's across the river from Charleston. It is very clean, the pool is a real plus. The staff was very friendly, and it was about $25/night cheaper than the conference hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Fran_S_12_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked at last minute and were not disappointed. The location is great- right by Ravenel Bridge. Fantastic pool - and nobody else using it. The room was compact but nice decor and the bed to die for. Quiet location. Handy to have the laundry. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road but this was not a negative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear juliababy,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarion because the accepted our dog who accompanied us on our trip. Beds were comfy, bath was dated with unfinished drywall repairs. Room was a little musty smelling but not too bad. Breakfast was poor for a hot breakfast. They would be better off offering a better quality cold continental meal. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 5 at the Clarion and the staff is amazing and outgoing!! Lakeya, Katrina and Swanlelle made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is located near the Visitor's Center in Mt. Pleasant. We took advantage of the Harris Tetter and Whole Foods nearby to stock the refrigerator in the room for breakfast...we stayed on a weekend when there were a lot of families so the breakfast room was often crowded with no seats available. The only thing we did not care for were the pillows. The are smaill and soft with no support. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay convenient to Charleston and the Isle of Palms...stay at the Clarion.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor by the pool, and we really did not hear the kids playing there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear stang97,

Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay and don't hesitate to call me to share more information and I will try my best to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

16-19 May 2014. I had read negative reviews, but thought I would see for myself. Requested accessible room. When my daughter and I arrived, the ladies at the desk greeted me with smiles and my room number. I remember one of the ladies was Katrina and the other Ladeya or similar. Room was clean and parking outstanding for a disabled guest. As I had already read in reviews,the breakfast was fine but seating terrible. Area is too small for guests. We had a nice stay and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Great location. Just be careful not to great in bridge lane unless you want to go to Charleston
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear stang97,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A nice little hotel. The rooms were very clean and the staff was really friendly. Great price! Probably not the ideal location if you're going into Charleston a lot, but perfect for the Mt. Pleasant area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaAP, General Manager at Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear malimac,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston

Address: 310 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#5 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#6 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Pleasant, SC Clarion Inn(R) Mount Pleasant hotel is close to a number of popular area attractions, such as: Patriots Point Isle of Palms Beach Shem Creek Charleston Historic District Fort Sumter Visitors will enjoy driving across the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge (Cooper River Bridge) that connects Mount Pleasant with downtown Charleston and is the only access point to the Sullivans Island barrier community. The Charleston Open Air Market and the charming town of Ft. Moultrie are also close to this Mount Pleasant, SC hotel. You are invited to relax in our picnic area and enjoy the many amenities at the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls Seasonal outdoor pool Business travelers will also have access to copy and fax services. In addition to standard amenities, all rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons with boards and cable television. Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. If you are looking for inviting accommodations and excellent rates, then the Clarion Inn, Mount Pleasant hotel is the perfect place to call home in South Carolina. Book a room with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Comfort Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.