We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Hwy 17, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Holiday Inn would not be my first choice but rooms in the area were limited because of the Cooper Bridge 10K. The hotel itself was classic Holiday Inn. Standard and middle of the road. Staff was doing double and triple duty in the dining room. Food was better than expected and the service staff was excellent but overwhelmed. Breakfast buffet was overpriced. Be sure to prepay if this is an important feature for you. Lots of great dining in the area so you are not stuck. I expect the newer Holiday Inn Express next door would have been a better choice. Front Desk staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear happycruiserFlorida,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    79
    60
    35
    24
See reviews for
71
65
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The employees were very nice and helpful. The carpet in our room had been cleaned and was still wet, we were put in another room quickly. I was surprised to find NO refrigerator or microwave in the room. I thought all motel/ hotels have them, but I was told I should have requested them when I made the reservations. Also, I usually stay where a free breakfast is included, so I was surprised the restaurant charged, and was expensive. I don't need much
breakfast, so we used the in-room coffee (provided) and our snack bars. We probably won't go
there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Betty P,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept my sincerest apology if you were not able to take advantage of our refrigerator and microwave. I am also sorry we do not have free breakfast. However, we do offer package rates that includes breakfast or an option to dine-in in our full service restaurant. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice Hotel. One of the managers at the Hotel - Chase made our stay and experience with the hotel very enjoyable. He was very friendly, professional and made sure all our needs were met. The room was spacious & clean. We were a little dissapointed that breakfast was not included expecially considering the cost of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean and Quiet. Very helping staff. Specially at the front desk. We had booked it through a website, which did not give us an option to choose the room. The staff were so friendly that with no change of price they accommodated us in a bigger room.
A little bit far from the center. No mineral water in the room. 1 breakfast although we were 3!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great hotel and we got a fantastic deal on priceline. Loved the cleanliness, and the staff was good too. The city is beautiful and getting there was very easy. There is also a bus tour that stops right outside the hotel. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california,md
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Clean and up to date. There was no free breakfast which was disappointing. Overall if the rate was under $80 I would stay again. It was a good location. Managers special on Wednesday. Good parking. Friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After reading reviews of this hotel, I was nervous to stay here. However, it was a great experience and I highly recommend them.

Chase at the front desk, was friendly, professional, and did everything he could to make sure we got settled in. They were great about not only giving me a non-smoking room, but putting us on a non-smoking floor. For an asthma sufferer, that little detail is really a big one.

When we got to our room, we gave it a thorough look-over. It not only smelled clean, but it was clean. No dust, dirt, mold, or mildew anywhere. And no bugs. We checked so thoroughly due to past comments made in reviews. The bathroom was spotless and the hot water was wonderful. The beds were firm, which I prefer, and the pillows comfortable. I slept great and I'm a difficult sleeper.

The weekend we stayed it was too cool to use the outdoor swimming pool, but it was a very nice setup and I'm sure we'll use it in the future. We did not take advantage of the restaurant.

There was a convention going on while we were there and some church youth. It did not interrupt our stay at all. The hotel had a firm control on things.

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to hop back and forth to Charleston as it sits right at the foot of the Ravenal bridge. Probably the most convenient hotel in Mount Pleasant to Charleston.

There has been much road work done outside of the hotel but that seems to mainly be over. You can enter the hotel easily from Hwy 17; however, when you leave it is necessary to make a left out of the hotel on to another road and then onto Hwy 17/Johnnie Dodds Blvd. It's due to the way the road has been rebuilt and really isn't difficult at all.

One of the downsides to the hotel is that it seems to share a parking lot with perhaps three other properties. Traffic wasn't horrible, but was heavier than what you would normally see in a hotel parking lot. And having that many properties together can lend to some noise, but nothing too bad. We were on the second floor and we could hear people in the parking lot talking, but when I used my sound machine phone app at night, it completely blocked out any noise. There aren't too many outlets in the room and some didn't work, so charging three cell phones and computers was a little challenging but not impossible.

Benefits to the hotel were the friendly staff, the cleanliness, the ease of going into Charleston, and the location to the Mount Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park. It's a beautiful place and is an easy drive behind the hotel. If you run it would be a great place for you to run as there are sidewalks from the hotel to the park.

I found the negative reviews on this hotel to be very off mark. We actually used Hotwire.com to book the hotel and yet were treated as nicely as any other guest, even though we paid much less. I think that speaks highly of a well trained staff.

Since there is a restaurant on site, a continental breakfast is not provided.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, ask for a non-smoking, non-pet floor. Higher floors will have less parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Address: 250 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Hwy 17, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Charleston Mt Pleasant is at heart of it all, located just minutes from Historic Charleston. Our convenient location is easily accessible and known for being at the foot of the Arthur Ravenel Bridge. Our Holiday Inn hotel is conveniently located to Charleston s beaches, islands, plantations, golf courses and other Lowcountry attractions. In addition, we are convenient to shopping, ports and local businesses. Enjoy Festivals & events: Southeastern Wildlife Expo 3rd Weekend Feb Cooper River Bridge Run 1st Weekend April Spoleto Festival Memorial Day Weekend to June 10 Family Circle Cup Tennis 2nd Weekend April The Holiday Inn is surrounded by southern charm and fine antique reproductions found throughout the hotel. Our spacious guest rooms are filled with lovely antique reproductions as well, yet feature modern conveniences. Our hotel is designed to meet the needs of our corporate, group and leisure travelers offering exceptional service to our guests and amenities to meet your every need. If you re planning a meeting, banquet, wedding or family reunion contact our expert staff to make your event memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston/Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.