We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terry F” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Hwy 17, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Terry F”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stay at this Hotel when I am in Charleston on business. The personel at this hotel is above what you expect. I feel so at home. Everyone on staff never fails, when they see you to say good morning or afternoon. Abigail; who works at the front desk; is tops in customer service and satisfaction. She gets the manager of the year award in my book, heads above everywhere else I stay.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    39
    28
    20
See reviews for
56
42
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for its convenience to downtown and its low price. We only stayed one night. I was surprised to find out that this hotel did not include continental breakfast, especially because many of the nearby hotels do. My wife and I were given a room with two double beds instead of one larger bed. When I asked for a room change, they said they were all full. Mattresses are very hard and uncomfortable. Room was very clean and well stocked, however. We were glad to not hear much of the road noise, as the hotel sits right next to Highway 17. Good place to stay if you want to be near downtown Charleston but not pay the high price tag. Surrounding hotels are much nicer and you get more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Colarestaurantfan,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Last minute decision to get away for a few days. No reservations. Picked this hotel for convenience and rates. Check-in staff very friendly and made decision to stay at hotel an easy one. Room clean and comfortable. Housekeeping staff efficient and friendly. Breakfast buffet very good with a variety of choices. Restaurant staff excellent when encountered with abundance of people due to multiple basketball teams staying at the hotel. Was unaware that hotel was pet friendly and somewhat disappointed in that. Also seemed that fifth floor must have been the "pet" floor because everybody but us had dogs. Would have liked to have known that. Otherwise, a good, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while I looked for a furnished apartment in the area. My belongings were packed in my car and this hotel was in a safe an secure area. Although road construction made entering and exiting a little confusing the hotel is in a convenient location to downtown without the downtown prices. The room was clean and comfortable and the property allows dogs with a designated dog area outside. The hotel bar service was friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Booked my visit on Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I come to this several times a year for business and pleasure. I've never had a bad stay, the hotel staff from house keeping and the front desk to the restaurant, sales department, and hotel managment has always been very helpful and attentive to every guests need. I will continue to stay at this hotel and other Priority Club Properties.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room at this property. The even room numbers overlook the pool while the odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Mike S,

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy your stays with us. I will be sharing this with our entire staff and I am sure they will feel the same way.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Abigail Leugers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family took a trip to Charleston a few weeks ago and we had a great time in the city. We were in Charleston looking at the college for my daughter. Coming from NYC Charleston was exactly what we needed for a little getaway. We decided to stay at Holiday Inn because we usually stay with them and we are Priority Club members. The hotel location is great and the front desk staff was wonderful. The food at the restaurant was good as well. The rooms are not so bad except the fact that the building has a lot of humidity. It seems like they are making changes around the place. The place has potential because of its location but it seems like its not in the right hands to make those changes. We had the pleasure to meet their manager Abigail who was overly sweet but extremely unprofessional. She asked my husband if he was a drinker, she called all the men around her "sugar" and was walking around the property with a cigarette behind her ear. Overall the property and the staff are great. The rooms are decent too and like I said, the place has great potential if it was in the right hands. I will more than likely stay here again if I came to Charleston but only because of the hospitality of the restaurant staff and the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Shirley M,

Thank you for your recent comments from your stay.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and everything the Holiday Inn Charleston – Mt. Pleasant has to offer. I will share your comments with our staff and they will be excited to hear your feedback.

I do apologize for any unprofessionalism you may have encountered on my part. It was truly not my intent to offend you. We take great pride in our customer service and your feedback will be used as a learning tool for me and my staff.

Thanks again for your comments and your business. It is greatly appreciated.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you are returning to the area. I will more than happy to make your reservation in one of our 5th floor rooms.

Sincerely,

Abigail Leugers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Recently stayed at this Holiday Inn and had a spacious room on the 5th floor. It was clean and the staff of the hotel was very friendly. Didn't have time to eat in the restaurant or visit the bar though would definitely stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear FNC058,

We appreciate your comments from your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our staff. They will be happy to know they were mentioned as do I.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Mt. Pleasant!

Sincerely,

Abigail Leugers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston/Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston/Mount Pleasant Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Holiday Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Holiday Inn
Address: 250 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Hwy 17, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Charleston Mt Pleasant is at heart of it all, located just minutes from Historic Charleston. Our convenient location is easily accessible and known for being at the foot of the Arthur Ravenel Bridge. Our Holiday Inn hotel is conveniently located to Charleston s beaches, islands, plantations, golf courses and other Lowcountry attractions. In addition, we are convenient to shopping, ports and local businesses. Enjoy Festivals & events: Southeastern Wildlife Expo 3rd Weekend Feb Cooper River Bridge Run 1st Weekend April Spoleto Festival Memorial Day Weekend to June 10 Family Circle Cup Tennis 2nd Weekend April The Holiday Inn is surrounded by southern charm and fine antique reproductions found throughout the hotel. Our spacious guest rooms are filled with lovely antique reproductions as well, yet feature modern conveniences. Our hotel is designed to meet the needs of our corporate, group and leisure travelers offering exceptional service to our guests and amenities to meet your every need. If you re planning a meeting, banquet, wedding or family reunion contact our expert staff to make your event memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.