We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our dinner! Great food and great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Drum

Red Drum
803 Coleman Blvd., Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
+1 843-849-0313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Drum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 274 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pherigo
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our dinner! Great food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a few days and took a chance on this place. Great food and service! A little loud inside as this is obviously a local hangout. Great place for adults who like good drinks and a band (who began playing at 9 p.m.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Took a business client and my wife here for dinner last week and we all really enjoyed our meals.

For dinner I started with a bowl of Tortilla soup (really good), followed by the pork chop for dinner. The chop was tender and one of the best I have had in a long time. My wife had the spicy shrimp and my client had the steak with fries. Everyone enjoyed the meal and it really was a nice night out. Almost forgot I passed on desert, but for takeout we had the chocolate cake, very tasty.

Note - Dinner with a nice bottle of wine and deserts $225.00.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service was good, food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I received a gift card to this restaurant for Christmas. I must say that while the restaurant is nice, valet parking was convenient & quick, the service was excellent, but the food was just ok. For the price, I expected it to be top notch. Will probably return for happy hour and bar food, as they do have a great bar area and a different bar menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went on a great recommendation from a top chef. Drinks were super, guys at the bar couldn't be friendlier and more helpful. Restaurant very noisy and packed. Clam appetizer was excellent, as was the shrimp cocktail ceviche. Enchiladas ala short ribs were very good, but only as good as a good Mexican restaurant. The bar had so many people at it they were standing 3-deep plus. A live band came in and they were fun. It is a good local place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of top recommended restaurants by the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been there twice on business in the last three weeks. This is a happening place in Mt Pleasant/Charleston. Great selection of beers, bar is great. It seems to be a 30's to 40's group at the bar. The live music is great ambiance addition.
The food is great - first visit I had the salmon - fantastic he second visit I had the scallops they were ok nothing over the top fantastic. Service is very good and very attentive. Definite stop if your visiting or a local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Drum also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Drum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.