We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 Woodland Ave, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Longview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We found the location to be good for quick access to golf courses and it was easy to get to downtown Charleston from there. One desk clerk, James, was very friendly and helpful, but others at the desk didn't put forth much effort to make us feel welcome.
There was a stain on the carpet in our room and a huge stain on the hall carpet. This did not make us feel confident in the cleanliness of the hotel The bedding was very thin and felt cheap. We were on the 2nd floor and heard the people above us walking across the floor. It sounded like they were stomping, but I'm sure they were just walking. This made it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was $9.99 plus a tip and was similar to the complimentary breakfast provided by Hampton Inns. With taxes, we paid $185.59 per night. In our opinion, our accomodations were over-priced. Our experience wasn't awful, but we probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
64
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

New facility. Very clean. Convienient location in Mt. Pleasant location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Being a Marriott Gold rewards member, we have stayed in several Marriott brand hotels and have come to expect a certain level of service. Unfortunately the staff at the front desk as well as those taking care of the breakfast, fell short on this 2 night stay. The women at the front desk were almost always too busy chatting to give us their full attention. They were not friendly and could care less. One of them even left us hanging in the middle of a conversation. At breakfast, the server came back to our table with our order and literally held the plate out in front of us until we grabbed it, instead of setting it down on the table. The overall demeanor was just plain uncouth. To add to this, the breakfast food was less than appetizing - spinach in the omelette was most definitely frozen, the bacon and quiche? tasted stale. We did get to breakfast a full hour before closing. This was disappointing as we typically like the full Marriott breakfast spread.

In addition, we were not getting a signal for HBO in our room. I complained the first evening and was told that she would call the cable company. The next day - still no HBO. When I asked the same woman at the front desk, she claimed she did not remember my complaint. Someone from maintenance finally came to our room and got HBO going. Later that night, once again no signal. Our room was also noisy. Being on the second floor, we could constantly hear the people above us. The floor creaking made for a restless night/early morning.

We've stayed at this same hotel before and don't remember having a bad experience. In any case, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay on the top most level, facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I admit that I chose this hotel mainly for the price. The hotels in the historic district were all priced outside my comfort zone. Mt. Pleasant is about a 10 minute drive over a bridge to downtown Charleston. Very easy to get to the historic district; several parking garages are available with reasonable rates.
When we walked into the lobby, my first thought was that this was the most beautiful Courtyard we had ever stayed in. Then we went up to our room; it was huge, quiet, and comfortable. The pool area was nice, with a hot tub. The staff was great; James at the front desk recommended a great restaurant for us, we liked it so much we ate there twice. We will be planning a second trip to Charleston, and would love to stay at this Courtyard again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, tx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights with my family. Great service! Room and property were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have stayed here twice before and will gladly stay again. Nice free coffee. Pool and hot tub area is very nice as is the large gathering area on the main floor. Large fire pit makes you feel likes its better than a 3 star property. Comfortable bed. Good TV with several HD channels. Only issue this time was that the wireless Internet was very spotty on my laptop in the room and on my iPod touch in the public areas. I did not say anything because I was only checking email. But if I had been on a business trip it would have been a problem. Don't remember this from before. Again, nice hotel. Internet would need to be better for business use.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This is a rather nice Courtyard. Location ia easy to make in and our and getting to Charleston ia easy.

The hotel has an outside pool and hot tub (didn't use them though) and free wifi everywhere and a bar. The morning buffet is good for $10.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant

Address: 1251 Woodland Ave, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott, Mt. Pleasant's newest hotel provides a sanctuary for guests. Offering luxurious bedding, 32 inch flat screen televisions with connectivity panels and state of the art meeting facilities. Featuring a library and lobby bar with a charming courtyard, pool and fire pit. Convenient to historic downtown, beaches, shopping and golf. Courtyard, it's a new stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Courtyard
Mount Pleasant Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston-Mount Pleasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.