We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cottages on Charleston Harbor to your Saves list
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
16 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Belvidere Club & Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa's Special Offer
Mustang, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ok if your thinking about booking then do it! We love this place, my family (husband, 2 small kids, and mother & father in law) all stayed here in cabin #4. It is absolutely beautiful! The cottages are very well decorated with Charleston style! The grounds are very well kept and beautiful, it's quiet, relaxing and wonderful! We really enjoyed the screened in porch and chairs, it's so peaceful sitting outside right on the ocean watching the wildlife and HUGE ships, sail boats etc go by. My kids and husband walked along the beach when the tide was low and picked up shells and explored, we also saw dolphins several times.
The cottages are very well appointed with everything you need. The breakfast and baked goods they leave out for guests were so good, definitely not the "cafeteria continental food" breakfast you get at most places.
The staff has been very accommodating and we actually booked an extra night after being here a few hours we loved it so much!
The location is great, there is easy access to the Charleston
water taxi to go down town, or just a quick drive across the Ravenal bridge. The area around it is very nice with lots of eateries, shops and even a Whole Foods close if you want to stock your frig to cook in the Cottage.
I had decided to book because of Southern Living's recommendation, and I would say its totally worth it and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa P, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Treat Family!
I know you all are still in your cottage enjoying the ships and dolphins passing by the harbor.... and that we will see you around the pool to personally thank you for your kind words before you leave us. We just wanted you to know that It has been our pleasure having your whole family stay with us and please let us know if there is anything else we can do during the remainder of your stay.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Christa Polinsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We rented cottage #8 for a small business retreat.

The layout of the place is perfect with a comfortable living room and large screened porch. Decorations were tasteful and the entire cottage was clean.

The staff did a wonderful job with everything, and the housecleaning staff stood out as sweet, sweet ladies. Kudos to the manager, Christa, and her team. You guys are doing a great job with this location.
I will be back for business and with my family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa P, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Jimmy Nikko....we appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay and we look forward to having you back with us again with your family and friends. Our staff takes great pride in what we do and we hope every guests leaves feeling like they are part of our family.

There is no other place in Charleston to relax by the harbor like The Cottages and we are glad to have you all as part of our family.

We hope to see you again soon. All the best,
Christa Polinsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the Cottages. This is our fourth time staying at this location. The views are amazing from the cottages - overlooking the harbor. Each cottage offers two bedrooms with a large screen porch - hammock included! Continental breakfast is included each morning along with special treats throughout the day. The staff is very attentive. They a nice pool/hot tub area which is perfect for family and friend to get together. We used the area for a wedding rehearsal party - perfect setting. The cottages are on the expensive side, but well worth the price!!

Room Tip: Cottage #6 has one of the best views from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa P, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Gary N - Thanks for the wonderful review... we would have to agree that The Cottages is a special place. There is no where else in Charleston to be for a wedding or a quick getaway with family and friends. What a beautiful weekend it was indeed and we hope to see you all again soon!

All the best,
Christa Polinsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Cottages on a 3 day weekend. We stayed in Cottage #7 and it was in great shape with a remarkable huge screened porch overlooking the Charleston Harbor. The staff, especially Edward and Will, made us feel so welcomed and were always very accommodating. We needed an early breakfast one morning, so Will put together some things and brought it over to our cottage!
This place is expensive but if you want to splurge, its worth it.

Room Tip: Cottage 7 was very nice. I checked out cottage 6 next to us and it was nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Ray G -
It was a pleasure to have you all back with us again this year. What perfect weather for the bridge run! I will make sure to pass along your kind words to Edward and Will. We hope to see you all again next year. I will be sending out a special offer to the bridge runners that stayed with us this year, so be on the look out!
Warm Regards,
Christa Polinsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from two nights at the Cottages on Charleston Harbor with another couple, and have nothing but great things to say about the property. The staff was courteous and helpful, and our cottage was well-appointed, clean, and situated in a perfect location outside the bustle of Charleston's historic district. We loved coming back to it after a busy day of sightseeing to relax by our fireplace together or on our screened-in porch, and already have the itch to return with family and friends. With complimentary bikes to ride, it's the perfect getaway for a relaxing stay in Charleston.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Charleston with friends or family, this is well worth considering. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 5, which was centered on a little sandy area on the harbor. With enough "y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan S, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Catherine T - We appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with others about your recent stay with us here at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor. Thank you for pointing a few of your (and our) favorite things, like the fireplace, screened-in porch, bikes and of course our staff. We fell there is no better place to relax and unwind after a day or touring, shopping and eating!!

We hope to have you all back with us again soon!
All the best,
Christa Polinsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just stayed 4 nights in Cottage #3 and cannot think of one negative thing to say about our stay or the staff. I would classify this property to be a high end B&B with an advantage of having an entire cottage to yourself. The cottages are well maintained and full of amenities. Beds are comfy as well as the decor and the screened in porches. We were constantly entertained by the ships that pass throughout the day and the gorgeous sunsets we observed each day. The grounds are immaculate and I can't say enough positive comments about the attitude and attentiveness of the entire staff. Having stayed only 4 nights, I felt like I knew each and every one of them forever. Location to the actual downtown Charleston area is quick and convenient. Highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Cottage 3 seemed to offer best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. The cottage was in a great location, but it had a roach problem. For this kind of money, I expected not to have this kind of problem. Also, there is not a beach that we could find. The "resort" is supposed to be under new ownership. Hopefully, they can fix the repair issues and bug problems.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Address: 16 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Belvidere Club & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor offer ten two-bedroom cottages with spacious living areas, full kitchens, and private porches where you can enjoy waterfront views unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottages on Charleston Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages On Charleston Harbor Hotel Mount Pleasant
Belvidere Hotel Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.