We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Save Saved
You added The Cottages on Charleston Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
16 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Belvidere Club & Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Back a second time to the cottages....the cottages are very nice, great porches viewing the harbor, fully equipped kitchens and private. Staff are very nice. We like staying away from downtown. Plenty to do in Mt Pleasant area and its only 5 minutes to all the town activities. We have stayed in cottage #'s 1&2. Both are very nice but would avoid #1 because it's next to a noisy industrial air conditioning unit. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the ships come in and out of the harbor. I would recommend The Cottages to anyone looking for nice private accommodations that are not far from the activities Charleston has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

These cottages are fantastic. Ours was right on the water and had a wonderful screened in porch that we just wanted to sit on all day and listen to the sound of the water. It was so relaxing. It was great having a kitchen and living room and the bathroom was huge. It was great being so close to Charleston but feeling like we were on a peaceful island resort at the same time. The cottage needed a little repair cosmetically but nothing major at all and to be quite expected for something on the water. The staff was friend and helpful and gave us a fantastic dinner suggestion...Carter's Kitchen, which was absolutely fantastic. The breakfast is truly just a continental breakfast but it was quite sufficient.

Room Tip: Cottages 1-6 are closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Is is sad when a property that you loved goes from a 4 star to a 1 star in such a short time. Returned for a visit was so disappointed and The manager was not available to assit and when contacted by the peron who was in charge but "couldn' t do anything" did nothing. You would do much better at Motel 6 - I am sure they have much better service and doesn't smell so bad that you have to leave. RUN don't walk somewhere else - This place is going down hill FAST!! They are letting things run down and not repairing or replacing them the items that are replaced are cheap . The pillows on the bed must have come from a dollar store. Size of travel pillows on a king size bed. Smell in the bathroom so bad made me sick - After many happy visit which are shown on my earler post will never again return and will warn the friends and family that I have recommended this property to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The cottages are beautiful, the staff is friendly and helpful. This is a very quite little resort, if you are looking for some R&R a great place, if you want more action stay elsewhere. Rent a car ... while taking the Green Taxi into downtown Charleston was easy and not really expensive ($15 each way), it was annoying after a while.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our cottage was absolutely beautiful, very spacious, spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location only a 10 min drive to restaurants etc in Mount Pleasant area.
I didn't notice that the cottages looked a little 'worn' (see my pics!) They were in keeping with the 'beach' lifestyle and reminded us of the Caribbean or Queensland.
The pool area was great. There were plenty of sun loungers and pool towels. Breakfast was buffet style, perhaps a little limited in choice but that was not a problem and we could choose to eat it inside or out doors at one of the wide spacious tables.
Regrettably, we only stayed one night but would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had our wedding weekend planned from Thursday-Sunday in June. We rented all 10 cottages for our wedding party and it couldn't have been better-we felt like the Biltmore's for a few days! In fact, the weekend exceeded our expectations in every way. To start, check-in was a breeze and very friendly-all the staff have the laid back "beach" attitude, which in no way should be taken negatively. It was nice to have very attentive, yet very normal, people working diligently for you. The smallest request by us or our guests was always met. The cottages themselves are wonderful. Several reviews state the "slightly worn" look-folks, it's 2 feet from the harbor-unobstructed salt air and wind, a good problem to have. And no, they are not even close to being aged. The cleaning staff is wonderful and very good. The grounds are great, the pool was incredible, the breakfast was a nice touch, along with the snacks/beverages provided through out the day. But by far the best thing was sitting on the screened porch in the morning, sipping coffee barefoot (nursing a hangover) and time and time again we heard, "this is incredible". If possible, try to rent the whole property, it's incredible to have the whole place to yourselves. If getting married, do everything on site-ceremony and reception-to beautiful to go anywhere else. We wish we could do it all over again, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Cottages several times during the last few years at holidays, summertime and fall, and have not wanted to leave when it was time to go. We find the location very convenient, the staff very helpful and friendly and the cottages equipped with everything you could need for your stay. Yes, the cottages are showing a little wear, but we've always found them clean and neat, and if we used all of the creamer, tea or coffee, a note to the housekeeper and it was restocked. Noise from the resort next door was no worse than the kids in the other cottages and at the pool. The only negative comment I have is that they are difficult to book for weekends and holidays now that they are so popular.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront cottage...there is only one lagoon cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Address: 16 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly Belvidere Club & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor offer ten two-bedroom cottages with spacious living areas, full kitchens, and private porches where you can enjoy waterfront views unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Cottages on Charleston Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages On Charleston Harbor Hotel Mount Pleasant
Belvidere Hotel Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottages on Charleston Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.