We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USS Enterprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum

Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum
Bed and Breakfast, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
843-884-2727
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The history of Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum began in June 1975 when the legendary aircraft carrier USS Yorktown entered Charleston Harbor. A few months later, the USS Yorktown was dedicated as the first ship of the Naval & Maritime Museum on the 200th birthday of the United States Navy. Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum was officially opened to the public on January 3, 1976. Today the museum consists of the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown (CV-10) with 29 aircraft on display from WWII to the present; the USS Laffey (DD-724), a Sumner-class destroyer; and the USS Clamagore (SS-343), a GUPPY III submarine. The Congressional Medal of Honor Society is headquartered here and their official Medal of Honor Museum is onboard the USS Yorktown. There is also a Cold War Sub Memorial and Vietnam Support Base Camp on the surrounding grounds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“USS Enterprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having visited the USS North Carolina Battlrship in my hometown, i could appreciate just how big this old aircraft carrier was. To think, it's small by today's standards. Lots of interesting things both above and below deck.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,098
    340
    38
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We came on the weekend of the 60th anniversary of D-Day and all I can say is WOW!!! There were veteran's who served on the USS Laffey and YORKTOWN who volunteer to come in and share their experiences on these vessels on D-Day. It was very moving to listen to these men tell their stories by the time we left the Laffey I was overwhelmed with gratitude and tears! Just drives home Freedom is not Free! Thank you to the men and women who have served and are serving that provide the blanket of protection for our country!! It's an all day adventure that's in expensive for all you get to do! Totally worth it this was our 3rd visit in 3 years we will always come back! Proud to be an American!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visit to USS Yorktown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We worth a visit, excellent experience the nice thing is the entrance ticket is valid for the whole day, after about 2 hours we caught the Water Taxi went on a Charleston city tour then came back to the museum

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We loved it. The USS Yorktown is awesome, so much history here. The Medal of Honor Museum is beautiful. No AC here, takes time to go through it all, but so worth it. Not to costly at all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must see - history alive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my son and daughter here 15 yrs ago and now my grandson. He understood some of what we viewed although not all, but he will remember it.
An employee on the deck provided us with good information about the different tours and a piece of paper to help me remember which one's we wanted to do. We went through 2 ships and it was worth the money to see the history and remember what our troops lived on during the war.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.