We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum

Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum
Bed and Breakfast, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
843-884-2727
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The history of Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum began in June 1975 when the legendary aircraft carrier USS Yorktown entered Charleston Harbor. A few months later, the USS Yorktown was dedicated as the first ship of the Naval & Maritime Museum on the 200th birthday of the United States Navy. Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum was officially opened to the public on January 3, 1976. Today the museum consists of the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown (CV-10) with 29 aircraft on display from WWII to the present; the USS Laffey (DD-724), a Sumner-class destroyer; and the USS Clamagore (SS-343), a GUPPY III submarine. The Congressional Medal of Honor Society is headquartered here and their official Medal of Honor Museum is onboard the USS Yorktown. There is also a Cold War Sub Memorial and Vietnam Support Base Camp on the surrounding grounds.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

You can enter the USS Yorktown, real aircraft carrier from he second world war, and frigate USS Laffey and submarine USS Clamagore.
USS Yorktown - this new Essex-class carrier was built in an amazing 16-½ months at Newport News, Virginia, YORKTOWN was commissioned on April 15, 1943, and participated significantly in the Pacific Offensive that began in late 1943 and ended with the defeat of Japan in 1945.
They offer six tours from captains bridge over flight deck to machinery area. I can't imaging how it was for over 3000 seaman to work and fight on that piece of steel. The engine room was stiff even without the engines running. It was really interesting as well for our 7 year old son.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    340
    38
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great blast of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love this place it always reminds me when I was in the Navy. I can close my eyes and memories come back. Volunteer's and staff are always there to answer your questions. These are Veteran's who been there and done it. You'll love it. Be sure to were tennis shoes or there of type shoe due to the climbing or descending the ladders (stairs). They can be quite tricky or a head knocker-lol

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a must for the men on your trip! (and I enjoyed it, too!) It is so interesting to see how the men lived while out at sea. Plan to send some time there to see everything.....I think we were there 3 hours. The one thing I did not like...not a deal-breaker by any means, but wouldn't you think parking would be included in your ticket price? Nope. They charge you $5.00 to park your car.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Leave enough time to explore the aircraft carrier Yorktown. There is so much to see if you have an interest in this kind of attraction, from viewing actual aircraft on the flight deck, to sitting in the pilot's seat of one of the planes in the hangar to taking a simulated jet ride. They actually serve a lunch in the Chief Petty Officer's mess hall if you are there at the right time, and the price is right. The food was ample, but was not far removed from a school lunch. However, it was worth the experience. There is a lot of walking and climbing if you want to explore the various decks. An elevator seems available for those who might really need it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of pal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Proud to have served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The experience of being on an aircraft carrier serves as a reminder of the trust we place in our sailing men and women. The Medal of Honor is a must see! A time to be quiet to honor those whose short stories express the meaning of heroism. For me, it underscores the meaning of the freedoms we so enjoy. A reverent experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.