We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RB's deserves a little more credit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R B's Seafood Restaurant & Bar

R B's Seafood Restaurant & Bar
97 Church St., Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4359
(843) 881-0466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 265 restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“RB's deserves a little more credit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've eaten at RB's many times over the years visiting Charleston from Columbia. The location and atmosphere are great, and if you get a table overlooking Shem Creek, it just doesn't get any better. The last couple of times I was there it seemed to have gone a little downhill, but on a visit this past weekend, they really hit the mark. It's one of the few places your can get a generous serving of local, fresh-chilled lump crab meat with drawn butter for an appetizer, and their signature crab dip is always delicious. Our service could not have been any better. Surprisingly, the place was half empty on a Friday night in October, but we did have to wait just a few minutes for a creekside table. So I had to suffer through a gorgeous sunset waiting on the dock! All the items my group had were quite good (except for slightly over-done fried shrimp). Since there is so little waterfront dining in downtown Charleston, this is a great and easy option with a quick drive over the bridge for area visitors. If you haven't been in a while, give them another try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    58
    73
    36
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Outdoor Seating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were looking for a place that had outdoor patio seating overlooking the water. We were greeted by our hostess who was wearing a jacket (because the a/c was so cold) and told that they close their patio during the week. We went somewhere else.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent View, Sub par food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Some places don't need to serve good food because people go there for the view regardless. This is one of those places. Too bad the owner doesn't get a great chef and make it an excellent all-around restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view, okay service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Place was packed! - 45-60 minute wait - but we were finally seated upstairs. Seemed like a bit of confusion between main hostess and upstairs hostess. Lots of restaurants in this area, all on the water and great to watch the boats coming back in from a day out on the water. Neat to watch the dolphins jumping in the waterway, too. Go early to avoid the long wait, though. Food was pretty good, but service was very slow.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have been going to RB's while living here for 20 yrs but I've returned from a 15 yr absence. RB's prices have sky rocketed while the food is 'acceptable' the quality does not reflect what the quality SHOULD be :^( Had to take my disabled mother up a couple flights of steps to eat...NO handicap help here :^( if going upstairs. The server we had was a JEWEL. The view; awesome, as usual, to watch all the boats coming and going to the restaurants. Young, young crowds at the Shem Creek waterfront bars there. RB's 'used' to give a free crab dip upon seating...........not anymore :^( sorry to say.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R B's Seafood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to R B's Seafood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R B's Seafood Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.