We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Village Post House

Old Village Post House
101 Pitt St, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-5318
843-388-8935
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Village Post House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Venning
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the duck which was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Desert was not bad, but not great. Very good wine selection. I have eaten here before and always find the food good quality and tasty. Very good wine selection. Enjoyed their house branded drinks interesting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    46
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ravenel, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We opted to eat out this Thanksgiving with some friends and chose the Old Village Post House.
We made reservations thru Open Table and upon arrival we were greeted and seated immediately at a table with a great outdoor view. Our wait person Beth was just wonderful. Attentive without being overly so. We were able to order from a special Thanksgiving menu (no buffet, thank God) and the food was delicious and just the correct amount for both us ladies and the guys. We were able to choose both typical Thanksgiving fare and other options not associated with Thanksgiving. The guys had turkey, dressing, etc, and us ladies had seafood. It wa a bit pricey but was ok with that because they were all working hard on a Holiday. The ambience was quiet but not stuffy. We will all definitely be back again for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Brunch in the Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely food, atmosphere, setting and staff! Ten of us attending a family reunion had brunch at the Old Village Post House and were delighted. It was warm enough on a mid-November Sunday to eat in the garden under the beautiful blue flowered thunbergia vine. The servers were so very friendly and attentive that we just chilled and enjoyed our family reunited. The server took pains to be sure that my peach bellini was strong on the peach nectar as opposed to the sparkling wine. We were accommodated in every way down to my inquiries about the thunbergia with which I was unfamiliar. On the Thursday following our visit the owner called me in Durham offering to send me a cutting and some seeds from this plant. What charming people! I can't forget to mention the food! It was super!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We moved here this summer and recently had dinner at the Old Village Post House. It's now our favorite. (We've since been back twice). Almost as good as SNOB in Charleston; both are part of the Maverick group. Can't speak highly enough of the food, service, staff and atmosphere. Top rated (and we've eaten at A LOT of restaurants throughout the world).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely experience, inside and out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Old Village in Mount Pleasant is quaint and a delightful surprise. It makes you feel like you're in Nantucket or Cape Cod, with big old family homes on the water. If you can find it, walk out on the former bridge that used to connect with Sullivan's Island for a unique glimpse of the inland waterway view of Charleston. We went to this restaurant for brunch this past Sunday, charmed by the front of the bldg. Our server told us that a Post House was a resting place for travelers. And the inside was equally as inviting. The bloody mary's were great, as well as many kinds of choices for seafood, country breakfast, salads, and she crab soup. We took my daughter and her boyfriend for her birthday and every one of us enjoyed our meal. This is a nice change from the bustle and commercialism that you often see in downtown Charleston. So if you're staying near Wild Dunes, this is a real gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Village Post House also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Village Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Village Post House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.