We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gullah food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr - CLOSED

Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr
1717 N Hwy 17, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-3314
(843) 881-9076
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Gullah food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was a wonderful Sunday southern noonday meal! Wonderful service, owner/manager on hand to greet, and wonderful peach cobbler to top it off! A fantastic dinner at a local spot----not a chain eatery!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    19
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Maybe not on Sunday evening?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We always have a good meal here. Though, maybe we will not go on Sunday evening again. The food was very good, but I really enjoy their specials, which are usually fresh fish dishes. Did not get that on Sunday. However, the waiter was fantastic and everyone enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Go-to Gumbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

One of the things we learned on our recent trip to the Low Country was that much of the cuisine we recognize as "Southern"--including items such as fried chicken, stewed okra, watermelon--were borrowed from the Gullah/Geechee slave population who brought them, in addition to their knowledge of how to cultivate rice, from their native West Africa, Many of the house servants in colonial times were the kitchen staff who cooked and seasoned meals in their traditional ways. Over time the Gullah foods became adopted as the regional cuisine of the South.

The Gullah culture, including food, has experienced a renaissance in recent years. This has coincided with all the burgeoning interest in local foods and regional traditions. Even a simple place like Martha Lou's in Charleston has been visited by all the network food gurus, Thus, it is not surprising that the Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Restaurant in tony Mount Pleasant has glowing reviews from the likes of the New York Times posted on its wall.

We sampled the okra gumbo, a spicy and tasty combination of shrimp, chicken, and smoked sausage, and the seafood gumbo, loaded with chunks of fish and local shellfish. I had expected both to be variations on a common base sauce, but was delighted to find that they were entirely different recipes.

Based on these two items, this restaurant would merit five stars. Unfortunately, the rest of the meal fell into a lesser category. The restaurant concept seems confused. Is it trying to be uptown or down home? There was an unpleasant odor, and the wait staff, while polite, were very inefficient. Our salads and cornbread were not delivered until we involved the manager, after several abortive requests (to her credit, she took care of everything). Diners who were seated before us were still unserved when we left.

These things dragged down the rating, but don't that stop you from giving this place a try. We've heard that their Gullah rice is outstanding, and we're willing to endure a few minor annoyances to give it a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good road food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent crab cake sandwich, very fine oyster po’ boy. Clean and well-lit. Lots of locals eating lunch, always a good sign. Service was good, even when the waitress teased us about drinking unsweetened tea -- “you all are definitely not from around here!” Right on Highway 17 North, easier to get to the restaurant on your way out of Charleston than into the city, but worth finding. Prices are fair and reasonable. Very affordable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Fine Gullah Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food was wonderful (try the amazing Gullah Rice!) The service was perfect. The only criticism I found, was that the Mac n Cheese was a tiny bit too greasy and needed a tiny bit more seasoning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullah Cuisine Lowcountry Rstr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.