We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar, very good food and great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Fish House

Charleston Harbor Fish House
32 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 (Formerly The Fish House)
+1 843-284-7070
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Harbor Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 256 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Waterfront restaurant specializing in serving fresh local seafood and regionally inspired dishes.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Bar, very good food and great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Located in Patriots point, it has a great view of the bridges and Charleston Harbor during the day and at night. It is a business casual kind of atmosphere. I love the seafood martini glass appetizer, and it is large enough for a light dinner. They also a nice wine by the glass list.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    106
    74
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Great service beautiful view
Rob and Dennis were fantastic.
Crazy 4th of July crowds but they really handled the evening well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fish House is fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

On a recent trip to South Carolina I stayed at the Charleston Harbor and Resort Hotel which is next door to the Fish House (in Mt. Pleasant, SC). This property is on Patriots Point which is a bit off the beaten path but expanding and improving with a new hotel coming out of the ground and plans for development of the peninsula.

The Fish House is a modern facility with commanding views of the Charleston skyline across the harbor and, of course, the harbor itself. The floor to ceiling windows let in lots of light and make the view of the marina and harbor feel a bit like the northeastern or Florida views.

The Fish House features seafood with the "low country" flair and includes the tried and true favorites such as shrimp and grits, low country crab cakse and fried calamari. There is a nice selection of appetizers, salads and entrees including cedar plank salmon and pan seared grouper.

The service is excellent and the beer was cold. The mixed drinks are a little small for people with a hearty thirst at cocktail hour (like me). However, this restaurant is an excellent place for drinks, lunch or dinner. There is also a rooftop bar which overlooks the marina and harbor and if the temperature and humidity are not too high, it provides an ideal setting for cocktails.

If you are in the Mt. Pleasant area, try this out of the way place. It does not feel near as "touristy" as some of the other seafood restaurants closer to Highway 17.

I'll be going back to this restaurant and recommend it to those who like seafood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Meal with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ate here on a Friday night and had made reservations because there was alot going on in the area that weekend. We arrived early and were able to go ahead and be seated. We had a great view of the USS Yorktown docked there at Patriots Point. There were 3 in our party and we each ordered something different. My husband had the fish and chips, my daughter had the fried shrimp appetizer and crab dip, and I had the shrimp scampi pasta bowl. All three meals were excellent. The staff were great and went out of their way to make sure we had all that we needed. I recommend giving this place a try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived from a two day drive from Texas and just wanted to eat and go to bed. So we thought we'd eat here since it was next to the resort. It was a Saturday night so we did expect to wait a little bit. We never anticipated to have a 25 minute wait with 15 empty tables! And I am not exaggerating! We had 4 in our party, too. The reason the hostess gave was they kitchen was 'slammed' and they were giving them time to catch up. Having said that, the food was good. We had the fish and chips, crab cakes, lobster ravioli, and Caesar salad. The lobster ravioli was tasty, however I'm not sure how much lobster was inside. The fish and chips was definitely the best of our choices. The crab cakes had more filling than crab, but they were good. The Caesar salad must have either sat for a while or was placed on a warm plate because the salad was warm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Harbor Fish House also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Harbor Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.