We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Harbor Fish House

Charleston Harbor Fish House
32 Patriots Point, Mount Pleasant, SC (Formerly The Fish House)
843.284.7070
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Harbor Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 275 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great views!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was thrilled that we were at last getting a restaurant in Charleston with views of the city and the water. The views are certainly fantastic, and you should definitely go to the bar upstairs for drinks just for the view alone. We took friends from New York there last weekend, and they loved the views too. Sadly, the food does not match up to this fantastic location. We have tried lunch and dinner, and neither were great. The lunch we ate at the bar, and the bartender was great. Our lunch was served in a tin tray, and the only sides are fries, coleslaw and one other that I can't remember. My husbands sandwich was soggy with the coleslaw being underneath, and it put him off eating it. My fries were very bland. The dinner was ok, but VERY overpriced. I will definitely be back, but not for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    54
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a little high priced for average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Liked the View from the dining room. Food not great. nice area to walk around after dinner, I guess that made the higher prices a little more acceptable

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The slaw tasted like just mayonnaise and shredded cabbage (no seasonings), the French fries were shoe string size with no flavor, the macaroni and cheese consisted of shell noodles and Velveeta-like cheese, the fried shrimp and oyster platters contained a small amount of fish which was bad considering how much the platters cost. The service was extremely slow and I asked for a bucket with ice to keep our white wine chilled and got just an empty, plastic bucket set on the table. The view is priceless of the Ravenel but the food and service make this place a good one to skip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If visiting Patriots Point be sure to include a stop at The Fish House. It is an open and airy nautical themed restaurant. Excellent appetizers for an afternoon snack and a fantastic bartender to whip up a specialty drink. We actually went back for dinner and had a very nice evening enjoying the sun going down over the bay. Lunch or dinner these folks do it right.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Yummy, Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My experience at the Fish House was a tasty one. The food was AMAZE!!! I had the grouper special with crab cakes and wild rice. The thought that came to mind when I was eating my food was a quote by my 3 year old nephew, "yummy, yum yum," in translation that means delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Harbor Fish House also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Harbor Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Harbor Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.