We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RB's

RB's
Shem Creek, Mount Pleasant, SC
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 274 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great seafood for the price. Friendly staff as well. A nice creekside location, a little hard to spot from the road.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were in the area during a very busy time and ended up in RB's by default. For the money, the restaurant was disappointing. On the good side, the food was fresh and classic and we ended up with a nice table. On the bad side, the staff was arrogant and condescending. This is apparently a restaurant resting on it's laurels and location. If you want to overpay to be just another number this is your restaurant. I have had better service from road side vendors. The management should be ashamed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conway, sc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not returning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

First and last time here. Nice atmosphere on water. Visited midafternoon when place was slow but service left alot to be desired even then. Overheard our waiter telling another waitperson he didn't want any more tables because tips were bad. (Someone needs to give him a clue!) Food was okey except for fish stew which we sent back. Thick tomato sauce with fish the size of rice when you could find it. Sent it back after 2 bites and told the waiter is wasn't that good. Still got char\ged for it. Plenty of other good restaurants in the area that have better ratings on TripAdvisor. Wish we had read the reviews first.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BEST seafood place not downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Right across the creek from our hotel was RB's. We had a 30 minute wait but it was happy hour so my group did not mind. Their drinks were $3 each but beware, once you get to the table-no more happy hour prices! I did get a coke from the bar while we were waiting for our table and was allowed to have it refilled for free once we sat down. I had oysters and scallops. They were fried and breaded but the breading was not thick. I also had a cup of She-Crab soup. It was very good. Our waiter was wonderful and very attentive. My cousins ordered a shrimp pasta dish and split it and they both had at least 2 cups of pasta on their plates. My dinner was more than enough and THE BEST oysters I have had this season. Big and juicy! My mother had fried shrimp and scallops. Nice big shrimp and really the best scallops I have ever eaten. We had cole slaw and baked potatoes. The hush puppies were great and had a bit of onion in them. We took a container full of leftover seafood back to the hotel and had it for breakfast-cold! It was still very good and not greasy at all. The restaurant did get crowded really quickly around 6 PM and there were alot of people waiting. While we waited, we sat out on the back deck but there is a bar area with tables inside. I would go back here. Prices were reasonable. I highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food & Excellent Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I’ve been here about three times in the last two months and many times before. Honestly, the food is nothing to write home about, but it’s still pretty good. The view on the hand is AWESOME!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RB's also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to RB's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RB's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.