We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant local bar scene and very good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter Kitchen and Bar

The Shelter Kitchen and Bar
Coleman Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
(843) 388-3625
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 281 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Huntersville,NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Vibrant local bar scene and very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a whim and was very pleased with the food and service. Menu is mostly sandwiches and salads. Tried the fried chicken and waffle sandwich and my wife had the fried green tomato sandwich; both were very good. Will definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    12
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual bar with decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We had some local taps and the burgers. Our waiter was great. It want overpriced. Worth a look for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Give me Shelter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Happened upon this treasure by accident.
Arrive for dinner around 8:00pm.. Party of 10, no wait.
Great ambiance, sat outside on covered deck. I had crab cake special with sweet potato hash and green beans. Delicious! Entire party lived their meal. Sandwiches, burgers, fish & chips, specials.
Friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“College hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Has corn hole. A place for college kids to hang out. Very crowded. Our waitress was awesome. I can't remember her name. Food was great. Had Fried Green Tomato B.L.T. Husband had Angus Burger. Friends had Fried Pickles and Fried Okra. Everyone enjoyed their food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I Checked out the shelter Sunday and Monday night, both nights were excellent.
Fried pickles and okra were to die for along with the Pimiento cheese appetizer.
For entrees the first night we ordered the shrimp and grits, and Beaufort stew. Both equally divine.

We headed back Monday on our way out of town. The "Bog and brew" for 6 bucks including a beer was an excellent choice. My wife had grilled chicken sandwich with goat cheese roasted red peppers and spinach. I will definitely return my next time through Mount pleasant. Happy this place opened staff was excellent and friendly and I forgot excellent pecan pie. It is a must try. Plenty of outside seating which is what sparked me to try it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shelter Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Shelter Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.