We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time diner...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Xao

Mi Xao
1055 Hwy 41, Station 41, Mount Pleasant, SC
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 275 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First time diner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

....and we loved it. It had been a long day and we wanted something relatively healthy for take out. Our neighbors had said this place was great and it was.Cute place, you can eat there as well. My husband got the red curry and I the lemongrass chicken - both were delicious and we plan to head back and try more dishes. Looking forward to the cool weather to try their pho!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

reasonably priced and fast option for lunch or dinner. Friendly close knit staff that will depart from the menu if you like. Food is tasty and skillfully prepared. Asian tea is excellent

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Vietnamese fix while visiting Mt Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were spending a few days In Mt Pleasant in prep for moving here in a couple months. I saw this place on tripadvisor & was beyond excited to see they offer pho, as it is none sister where we currently live. We visited here for dinner on a weeknight & as others have mentioned this is in an almost hidden location, in a strip mall, at the intersection of 17 & 41 on the corner where cvs & sonic are located.

we ordered spring rolls & dumplings, both of which were pretty good. we also ordered the London broil pho, which (for some reason) was missing scallions & onions (but they were cleaning up & about to close so we didn't ask why). even with the absent scallions & onions, the pho was good. not the best I've ever had & certainly not the worst (pho is an experience very dear to my Asian heart), but this place certainly fit the bill for someone like me who has been going through a major pho-withdrawl. We also loved that they allow you to bring your own beer/wine, and have outdoor seating. The service was good, but the real highlight of our visit was meeting the owner as we were finishing up. we enjoyed our conversation with him & the info he provided on the area, his personal background & his restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BYOB and enjoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you're going out for fine dining, this is not your place. But if you're looking for very good Vietnamese food in Mt. Pleasant, Mi Xao fits the bill. Located in a somewhat hidden strip mall, you order at the counter but the very friendly staff will bring your food to you. There are a couple of outside tables, but inside is pleasant enough. Just don't look for the wine and beer list because there isn't any. The first time we went, we were directed a couple of doors down to a neighboring pizza place to buy a beer or a glass of wine, which we then took back to Mi Xao. Interesting system, but the pizza place is obviously used to it and is happy for the business. This time we wised up and took our own bottle of wine...also acceptable. The shrimp green papaya salad was a good way to start. Both the Tom Yum Kung and the stir fry with the choose-your-own combo of rice/noodles, sauce (try the house special), and veggies/meat/shrimp were tasty entrees. This place also does a big carry out business. It's been a good experience and a great value that we'll enjoy again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No frills, outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Unassuming location. But the food is outstanding, and at a more-than-fair price. Green papaya salad, fresh summer rolls, and rice noodles with red curry are family favorites. Absolute favorite is the lemongrass chicken or pork sandwich that they (sadly) only serve as a special on tues. (We eat there a lot). Hoping that sandwich becomes a regular menu item.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Xao also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mi Xao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Xao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.