We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent tour, great tour guides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowcountry Loop Trolley Tour

Lowcountry Loop Trolley Tour
1514 Mathis Ferry Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
843-654-5199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 43 Activities in Mount Pleasant
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a journey to the beautiful beaches of Sullivan’s Island and Isle of Palms, the historic Naval and Maritime Museum at Patriots Point, home of the USS Yorktown, along the waterfront restaurants at Mt. Pleasant’s Shem Creek to the most photographed plantation in America, Boone Hall Plantation and Gardens, highlighted by a trip to the heart of historic downtown . You’ll travel aboard our beautiful Green Trolleys with vintage style charm. This is the only Hop On/Hop Off tour that takes you from the beaches to downtown Charleston. You set the pace...Unlimited Hop On/Hop Off privileges at numerous convenient stops.
Kettering, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excelent tour, great tour guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I can't add a lot to the great review by "Debbie P" in September 2013. Read her review, because it's excellent. The tour bus picks up from Mt. Pleasant area, the visitors centers at Mt Pleasant and downtown, and various stops on the way out to the plantation.

We had a great time, and the tour guides were very helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. They learned a little bit about each person on the trip, and threw in tidbits they would appreciate, or related stories involving their hometowns or interests.

The tea plantation was the first stop -we took a bus tour around the plantation, learned the history and methods used. Had some time in the shop to taste tea, buy a few things, take a short inside, and walk around the immediate area.

Then the winery and distillery. We had lunch first - a nice lunch with an awesome chicken salad. If you have any preferences/dislikes, be sure to let them know ahead of time!. One gentleman did not like chicken salad, but - they took care of him! The staff had just brought back food from another restaurant, and one sandwich was turkey. She traded him sandwiches on the spot!

After the wine tasting, we had a few minutes to shop, and then walked to the distillery which is just across the patio. As in other reviews, the tip here is - partner up with someone, and get 6 different tastes each, and share. You STILL won't have enough tastes for everything, but you'll get most of it. Had a little more time to shop, and walk thru the vineyards. It was October, so we could pick & eat any grapes we wanted right by the shop. Yum !

We had a little time, and went on to see Angel Tree - a 500+ year old live oak in a park on a dirt road just outside Charleston.They can't tell exactly how old it is - somewhere between 500-1500 years. It isn't very tall, but it spreads out over 17000 sq feet. It's beautiful !

Great way to spend a day !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    2
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate SC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful "Sip and See Tour"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Derrick & Terry, husband and wife team own this trolley company. They are both gracious and professional. My husband, daughter and I had a wonderful time on their "Sip and See Tour" in September 2013. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express (250 Spring St, Charleston) and Terry agreed to pick us up at our motel and drop us back off at the motel after the tour. What a blessing! This saved us from catching the free city trolley or driving to the downtown visitors center and having to pay parking fees.

We were picked up around 9:40am and rode directly to the Charleston Tea Plantation. There we had about 10 minutes to browse the gift shop or visit restrooms before boarding the Charleston Tea trolley tour that lasted about 45 minutes. This tour took us through the tea fields. The guide explained the history of the tea plantation, how each type of tea is harvested, when it is harvested, and the equipment they use to do this. He told us how their tea is flavored and passed a sample tube of their new hand cream product made with tea oils. We went to their propagation greenhouse, and then back to the gift shop area. We browsed about 5 minutes and then enjoyed the inside factory tour that explained how the different types of teas are made (green, oolong, black). Afterward we sampled teas. Many varieties were offered, both hot and cold, sweetened and plain. We had plenty of time to shop and pay for our purchases before reloading our trolley.

It was only a short drive to the winery and distillery, which share the same property. When we arrived Derrick announced we could leave any packages on the trolley and they would be safe. It was convenient not to have to carry our Charleston Tea Plantation bags around. Many people left hats on their seats too.

The winery folks had lunch setup for us on outside picnic tables. Lunch was from the Stono Cafe (famous organic CSA farm in the area) and consisted of artichoke pasta salad, a HUGE chicken salad sandwich on whole wheat bread, a small bag of cookies and an icy cold bottle of water. It was all delicious! They also offered a vegetarian lunch but I do not know what it was, as no one on our tour made this choice. (Tip: keep your water bottle to use for rinsing your wine and shot glasses between tastings.)

After lunch we went into the winery backroom for a private tasting of every wine they make. We also saw a short entertaining video featuring the winery owners telling how they began their business. After the tasting we were allowed time to browse the wine shop and/or make purchases. The personable winery staff wrapped and bagged our complimentary wine glass to take home, and encouraged us to walk through the vineyards to sample the different types of ripe muscadine grapes used to make all their wines.

We then walked just across the courtyard to Firefly Distillery. There you can choose any six (6) products to taste and also get to keep your complimentary shot glass. They offered many flavored vodkas, rums, bourbons, moonshines, and cordials. Some flavors can only be purchased at the distillery. (Tip: the samples provided were generous enough to share with other tour members, which allowed you to taste more than six flavors. We all figured the alcohol killed any germs.) They use Charleston Tea Plantation teas in all their tea flavored products, and offer many dessert type products such as apple pie moonshine and chocolate pecan cordial. Big pitchers of water were on the bar to use to dilute the samplings, if needed. Popcorn was provided to eat between tastings at both the winery and distillery.

When we re-boarded the trolley Derrick said our tour had finished alittle early so he was going to take us to the Angel Oak tree. This tree is owned and protected by the City of Charleston. It is the oldest (and largest) tree in the SC lowcountry. We were allowed to walk around the tree and take photos for 5 or 10 minutes before re-boarding. There is a small gift shop at the tree but we did not have time to go inside. (I have been inside many years ago and it primarily sold books at that time.)

The trolley dropped us back off at Holiday Inn Express around 3pm, before heading to the downtown Charleston visitors center. There were a total of 31 people in our tour group, which pretty much filled the trolley. We maybe could have squeezed one more person on the back seat -- maybe. It was great fun to meet and socialize with so many people from all walks of life. This tour provided a fun convenient way to visit remote Wadmalaw Island attractions and escape the hustle bustle of Charleston. Ticket price was a good value for all the services we received. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Derrick & Terry are lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Derrick & Terry are such a great couple and made every effort to make sure we had a great tour! We took the Island Sip and See and wasn't disappointed. This is a must see and ask for Derrick!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great tour on the Sip and See tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went on the tour today. The driver and his wife were both very nice, knowledgeable, and personable. We really enjoyed the tea plantation, winery, and distillery. The lunch that was provided was really good. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol CT
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great ride for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this tour for the price and the itinerary. We were not disappointed. The driver of the trolley and his wife were so pleasant and friendly that we felt like we were getting a private tour. They knew the area well and showed us their favorite highlights in addition to the touristy ones. Be sure to get the first trolley out of the Visitor's center to get the full experience. They know where to get the best deals on baskets and will show you where to shop, where to eat, ans what to see. They are very accommodating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowcountry Loop Trolley Tour also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lowcountry Loop Trolley Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowcountry Loop Trolley Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.