We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Pleasant KOA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOA Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Pleasant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Campground
5 Miles past I-256 on US 17, Mount Pleasant, SC   |  
Hotel amenities
chandler, tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mt. Pleasant KOA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I just spent four great days at this KOA. We found it to be very clean and beautiful. It has a brand new large Kanine Kamp. It is one of the best we have seen while traveling. We were in a really nice pull through site that fronted the beauitful lake. The review that advised about the road that takes you to Wal-Mart is great. We took it to pull-out to avoid a u-turn with our trailer and it worked great. We would certainly come back. There are a lot of water gnats but that is expected near the water and coast. It is convenient to all the sites in Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gastonia nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent the weekend at KOA and had a wonderful time. The staff at the campground were very friendly and helpful. We are planning to go back soon. We recommend this campground to all who want a delightful experience. We stayed in a cabin.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent 3 nights camping in a tent here this Septmeber. The sites were around a fairly large lake and were spaced apart. I was able to set up under a live oak that helped keep the sun off the tent. Cost is a little steep for tent camping but you can be on the beach at Isle of Palms within 15 minutes even with traffic. My grandkids are 5 minutes away and they loved the playground and pool. I did not run into all the ants that some of the other reviews mentioned. Overall a good experience and I plan on staying here next spring again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I camped in my tent Labor Day weekend. The tent site was perfect. An unobstructed view of the lake from the front door of my tent. The only bad part and the reason I would not come back was the ant problem. There is no way I could be outside, even sitting at the picnic table without getting swarmed by ants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, right after 10pm, and got our papers off a rack outside. We set up our tent and while doing so, a koa guy came by asking if we needed wood and if everything was okay. That was the only night we saw someone drive by. Place is still very infested with ants everywhere, it is nature though. Lots of big shelled bugs, mosquitos and spiders to go along with it. We stayed right on the lake, which probably didn't help the mosquito problem. We never went to the pool, there were only 2 showers and 2 stalls in the women's bathroom. They do events on Saturday: Ice cream social, hot dog cookout, wagon ride to Boone plantation. Quiet time is at 10, but that isn't really "quiet time." There is an adventure park right when you turn in, but again we didn't go to it. No dog park and I had hoped there would be since Myrtle has one. Dog walk area that I went to was beside the lake and very small. There were some baggies there for pick up, but just a small area and my dog needs more room to go...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the KOA in Mount Pleasant for our Family vacation. The Staff was amazing, the site was great and we really enjoyed our time. I think the cost is a bit high per night but it is a KOA so they tend to be a bit more expensive. It has been a very rainy summer so the mosquitoes were bad, but not in the control of the staff. The plantation ride was neat. They had and ice cream social on Saturday when we arrived. There weren't a lot of activities during the week. But there is a "tourist trap" place up at the entrance off Rt 17 called "Blackbeard's Cove" that can provide some distractions, and there is a shopping center (Kohl's, Wal-mart, etc) that is in walking/biking distance from the camp sites).

Room Tip: We did lose our screen room due to the windy conditions. I would suggest that you make sure that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location, nice trees, friendly staff that seems to try and maintain the facility. On the other hand, not enough showers for the amount of guests/campsites. Restrooms showers do get cleaned, but not nearly enough for the amount of people who use them.

One morning there was a beer can, cigarette with ashes, old t-shirt, tampon applicator and wrapper in the shower. Worst part, there is a pretty bad ant problem here. We saw staff spraying the grounds so they are aware of the problem, however we moved campsites due to the amount of ants and when we arrived home there are ants all over our tent and now inside our apartment.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground

Address: 5 Miles past I-256 on US 17, Mount Pleasant, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Mount Pleasant
Also Known As:
Koa Campground Hotel Mount Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOA Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added KOA Campground to your Saves list